Texas Tech University

Minutes for August 4, 2010

Printer Friendly Versions (Word | PDF)
  • Call To Order:
    • 2010-2011 Staff Senate President, Beverly Pinson
    • 3:00 pm, Senate Room, Student Union Building
  • Officers Present:
    • Bruce Bills, President Elect
    • Meredith Gooch, Secretary
    • Dale Ganus, Treasurer
  • Roll Call:
    • 54 of 67 senators present ( 4 vacancies).
    • Absent:  13
  • Minutes:
    • July 2010 meeting minutes approved as written. 
  • Treasurer’s Report:
    • Beginning balance:
      Ending balance:
    • Treasurer’s Report was approved as presented. 
  • Guest Speakers:
    • Kelly Overley, Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement
      • “Vision and Tradition” video with Masked Rider
      • $400 million to go to reach our goal in donations
      • Going public on September 17, 2010
      • Reaching out to the Texas Tech Family and students on September 30, 2010 in the Allen Theater
  • New Business:
    • Introductions of Officers
    • Icebreaker: Name game
    • Recognition of July and August birthdays via Britta Tye and Beverly Pinson
    • Parking update: Lee Sonnenberg reminded the Senate that we may park in the Music Building parking lot on the day of our Senate meetings and to use the extra parking privileges only when attending meetings for Staff Senate
    • Committee Chair Elections:
      • Ricky Sawyer was elected as the Administrative Class EEO
      • Meredith Gooch explained the role of the UDC, UDAC, and the Code Review Committees
    • Beverly Pinson read the responsibilities of each committee to the Senate in order for the Senate to have a better understanding of each committee.
  • Standing Committe Reports:
    • Technology:  Tentative Chair: Gary Johnson
    • Bylaws and Constitution:  Tentative Chair: John Brocklehurst
    • Communications/Public Relations:  Tentative Chair: Britta Tye
    • Elections:  Tentative Chair: Christi Felton
    • Grievance:  Tentative Chair: Jeff Hays
    • Issues:  Tentative Chair: Sam Beavers; Co-chair Debbie Holt
    • Nominations: Tentative Chair:  Patricia McCaleb
    • Scholarships:  Tentative Chair:  Jess Swintz
  • Special Committee Reports:
    • Parking:
    • Family Care:
    • Student Life:
    • Strategic Planning:
    • Gender Equity:
  • Announcements:
    • Next Executive Board meeting is September 29, 2010 at 3:30pm in Admin 244.
    • Next Staff Senate meeting is October 6, 2010 at 3:00pm in the SUB Senate Room.   


TTU Staff Senate