Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes April 28, 2023

Members Present:

Lisa Garner Santa (Chair), David Roach, Ameri Gurley, Nancy Soonpaa, Karen Alexander, Dominick Casadonte, Tara Stevens, Suzanne Tapp

Members Not Present:

Susan Tomlinson, John Masselli, Mitzi Ziegner, Rob Stewart, Andrew Stetson, Courtney Meyers, Katie Langford

Approval of Minutes:

Dom moved to approve the minutes from March 31, 2023; Suzanne seconded. The council approved the minutes.

Teaching Academy New Member Selection Update

Michael Giesselmann chaired the selection committee and gave an overview of the process and information about each newly selected member. The committee received eleven applications and selected nine to be inducted in the fall.

Chair Elect

Several council members were nominated but no one was able to accept the nomination. Nancy Soonpaa self-nominated and all voted in favor of her serving as Chair Elect beginning in the fall.

Requesting Nominations for Standing Committees

Several standing committee positions remained open after the member-wide nomination process ended. The council made several nominations for the remaining positions and TLPDC staff will reach out to each nominee for confirmation.

Updates:

- 1. The Burns Conference is schedule for Friday, September 8th.
- 2. The President awarded funding for a new award that will recognize faculty mentors.

Adjourn:

Lisa adjourned the meeting.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Molly Jacobs.