Texas Tech University at Junction Will Host Largest Conference in Centers History


February 25, 2009

LUBBOCK - Academics will gather at Texas Tech University's Center at Junction on March 5th for the 2009 Annual Meeting of the Texas Academy of Science, expected to be the largest conference in the centers' history.

The Llano River Field Station on the Junction campus will be home base for more than 275 presentations that will cover all of the sciences and mathematics for the expected 500 attendees.

Tom Arsuffi, Director of the Llano River Field Station, has helped to coordinate the conference.

"The exposure and image value to the TTU Llano River Field Station as host to the annual meeting of the Texas Academy of Science is immense," Arsuffi said. "It allows us to showcase our programs and the vast opportunities for research, education and engagement in range, water and natural resources in Texas' most pristine river and picturesque watersheds in the Texas Hill Country."

The 2009 meeting will be the 112th for the Texas Academy of Science, and a featured symposium is expected to highlight Texas Tech University's award-winning Outdoor School.

Among the 500 expected conference attendees, 15 different states and Mexico are likely to be represented, in addition to the presence of many influential Texas guests.

The mayor of Junction, James Murr is slated to be present at the conference banquet, and the president of the Texas Academy of Science, Raymond Matthews, will oversee conference events.

In effort to ensure that scholars of all ages will have an interest in the weekends' agenda, a Junior Academy for high school students, a Collegiate Academy for college and university students and a Senior Academy for academic and professional scientists have been included in conference plans.

Also on the conference agenda is the distribution of two awards. One influential Texan will receive the Texas Outstanding Scientist award and another will receive the Outstanding Teacher award. The winners were chosen through a nomination process that included entries from across the state.

Past winners of the distinguished Texas Outstanding Scientist award include Dr. Michael DeBakey, Dr. Norman Hackerman and the NASA Mars Meteorite Research Team.

Arsuffi said that this conference has the potential to bring some well-deserved attention to the Junction campus.

"As realtors are fond of saying, it's location, location, location," Arsuffi said. "At the Llano River Field Station we have it and we want scientists, educators and professionals to know about it."

More news from TTUISD

State of Texas | Statewide Search | Texas Homeland Security | SAO Fraud Reporting | State Agency Energy Savings Program | General Policy Information
TTU Home | TTU System | TTU Health Sciences Center | Angelo State University | Contact Us | Recommended Web Site Viewing Requirements | Compliance Hotline