Upward Bound
TTU Home Division of Institutional Diversity, Equity & Community Engagement Upward Bound Upward Bound Team

Upward Bound Team

Jalomo

Jesse Jalomo, Managing Director

jesse.jalomo@ttu.edu

Jesse Jalomo, former US Marine, comes to Upward Bound from LISD where he served as an Administrator in Lubbock ISD for more than 16 years. Born and raised in Lubbock, TX, Jesse is graduate of the UB program and recently was acknowledged as a TRiO Acheiver in 2012. He holds a Master's Degree in Education (Instructional Technology), a Bachelor's in Spanish/Marketing, and Principal's and Teacher's Certifications.

sylvia

Sylvia Gonzales , Associate Director

sylvia.gonzales@ttu.edu

Sylvia Gonzales has served as the Associate Director since January 2011 and has worked with several TRiO Programs for the past 12 years at other universities in New Mexico and Texas. She holds a Master's Degree in Higher Education Administration and two Bachelor's degrees in Business Administration and Spanish.

Gabriel Omar Gonzales

Gabriel Omar Gonzales, Q.U.E.S.T Unit Coordinator

gabriel.gonzales@ttu.edu

Gabriel Gonzales has in some way been connected to Upward Bound Programs every year since his Sophomore year of high school. In 2011 he received his degrees in Advertising and Spanish. Gabriel worked with the South Plains College Upward Bound for three years prior to coming to work for the TTU UB Program. Currently, he serves as the QUEST Unit Coordinator.

Juan Chavez

Juan Chavez, Select Coordinator

juan.chavez@ttu.edu

Juan Chavez is currently the Select Coordinator for the Texas Tech Upward Bound program. Graduated from the University of New Mexico with a BA in Human Resources. Serve 14 years in United States Marine Corps reaching the rank of Captain. He has been a resident of Lubbock for over 2 years.

Robert

Robert Guerrero, Discover Coordinator

robert.guerrero@ttu.edu

Robert Guerrero is currently the Discover Coordinator for the Texas Tech Upward Bound program. Graduated from Texas Tech with a BS in History/Physical Ed. and a Masters in Mid-Management. Taught/coached 13 years and was a school administrator for 18 years in Lubbock ISD and 4 years in Lubbock-Cooper ISD. He has been a resident of Lubbock for 57 years.

Sharon

Sharon Hornsby, Office Coordinator

sharon.hornsby@ttu.edu

Sharon Hornsby has been a member of the Upward Bound Programs for over 5 years. Sharon obtained her Bachelor's degree in Human Development and Family Studies at Texas Tech University in 2011.

Adriana

Adriana Tristan, Office Coordinator

adriana.c.tristan@ttu.edu

Adriana C. Tristan graduated from Texas Tech University in 2011 with a Bachelor in Science in Restaurant, Hotel and Institution Management and a Minor in Dance. She is currently working on her Master's Degree in Higher Education Administration.

America Rios

America Rios, Bridge/AP specialist

america.d.rios@ttu.edu

I have been a part of Upward Bound since 2005 as an Upward Bound student at Texas Tech to a resident advisor at the South Plains College Upward Bound. I have a Bachelor of Arts & Sciences in Psychology and Minor in Spanish from Texas Tech University.