Texas Tech University

IRB Policies and Procedures

Section 2: The IRB and Training

2.0 Committee Members

IRB Committee Members

INSTITUTIONAL REVIEW BOARD
PROTECTION OF HUMAN SUBJECTS COMMITTEE

Texas Tech University
September 2013

Name
Term
College/Dept.
MS
Phone
Email
Rosemary Cogan, Ph.D.
(Chair)
2014 Arts & Sciences/
Psychology
2051 742-3711 ext. 253 r.cogan@ttu.edu
Lillie Aguilar 2014 Lubbock Community NA 763-4187 lillie.aguilar@mail.tmccentral.org
Jan Blackwell 2014 Lubbock Community NA NA jblackwell7@suddenlink.net
Scott Burris, Ph.D. 2015 CASNR/Ag. Education & Communication 2131 742-2816 ext. 234 scott.burris@ttu.edu
Zhen Cong, Ph.D. 2016 HS/Human Development & Family Studies 1230 742-3000 zhen.cong@ttu.edu
Angela Eaton, Ph.D. 2016 Arts & Sciences/
English
3091 742-2500 ext.229 angela.eaton@ttu.edu
John Fowler, Ph.D. 2015 TTUHSC/
Physiology
TTUHSC 6651 743-2083 john.fowler@ttuhsc.edu
Jamie Gorman, Ph.D. 2016 Arts & Sciences/Psychology 2051 834-2942 jamie.gorman@ttu.edu
Lorenz Lutherer, Ph.D., M.D. 2016 TTUHSC/
Physiology
TTUHSC
6651
743-2532 lorenz.lutherer@ttuhsc.edu
Shirley Matteson, Ph.D. 2015 Education/Education 1071 742-1997 ext. 270 shirley.matteson@ttu.edu
Susan Mengel, Ph.D. 2015 Engineering/Computer Science 3104 834-6868 susan.mengel@ttu.edu
Comfort Pratt, Ph.D. 2015 Education/Education 1071 742-1997 ext. 237

c.pratt@ttu.edu

Andreas Schneider, Ph.D. 2015

Arts & Sciences/Sociology,  Anthropology & Social Work

1012 834-7502 andreas.schneider@ttu.edu
Autumn Shafer, Ph.D. 2016 Media & Communication/Public Relations 3082 834-4816 autumn.shafer@ttu.edu
James L. Smith, Ph.D. 2015 Engineering/
Industrial Engineering
3061 742-3543 james.smith@ttu.edu
Jeffrey Wherry, Ph.D. 2016 HS/Human Development & Family Studies 1230 742-3000 jeffrey.wherry@ttu.edu
Andy Young, Ed.D. 2015 Behavioral Sciences,
Lubbock Christian university
NA 720-7830 andy.young@lcu.edu

Rosemary Cogan: Licensed Clinical Psychologist, State of Texas #3676; Board Certified in Clinical Psychology, American Board of Professional Psychology; Board Certified in Psychoanalysis, American Psychoanalytic Association.
Lorenz Lutherer: Licensed Physician, Texas Medical Board #E8682
James Smith: Registered Professional Engineer-Texas; Certified Professional Ergonomist #577

ALTERNATES
Texas Tech University
September 2012

Name
Term
College/Dept.
MS
Phone
Email
Nancy Bell, Ph.D. 2015 HS/Human Development & Family Studies 1230 742-3000 ext. 269 nancy.bell@ttu.edu
Elsa Bello-Reuss, M.D. 2015 TTUHSC/Physiology 6651 743-3155 elsa.bello-reuss@ttuhsc.edu
Shannon Bichard 2015 Media & Communication/Advertising 3082 834-2312 shannon.bichard@ttu.edu
Layne Castleberry 2016 Community Member NA Lubbock City Hall LCastleberry@mail.ci.lubbock.tx.us
Jim Johnson, PharmD, MPA, FACHE 2016 Community Member,
Prisoners
NA University Medical Center jim.johnson@umchealthsystem.com
Sylvia Mendez-Morse, Ph.D. 2015 Education/Education 1071 742-1997 ext. 367 sylvia.mendez-morse@ttu.edu
Kelly Phelan, Ph.D. 2015 HS/Nutrition, Hosp., Retailing 1240 742-3068 ext. 296 kelly.phelan@ttu.edu
Darcy Reich, Ph.D. 2015 Arts & Sciences/Psychology 2051 742-3711 ext. 237 darcy.reich@ttu.edu
Alan Reifman, Ph.D. 2015 HS/Human Development & Family Studies 1162 742-3000 ext. 274 alan.reifman@ttu.edu

EX-OFFICIO

Name
College/Dept.
MS
Phone
Email
Alice Young, Ph.D. Assoc. Vice President for Research Integrity / Office of the Vice President for Research 1075 742-3905 alice.young@ttu.edu
Katherine Austin Beltz, Ph.D. Asst. Vice President / Information Technology 2008 742-5156 kathy.austin@ttu.edu
Jennifer Horn, J.D. Assoc. Managing Director / Office of Research Services 1035 742-3884 jennifer.horn@ttu.edu
Cliff Harris Interim Director / Environmental Health and Safety 1090 742-3876 cliff.harris@ttu.edu

2.1 Education/Training

The IRB helps educate the Texas Tech community generally about issues of human subjects research ethics. Principal Investigators on NIH and NSF projects are required to document the completion of training on human subjects protection for themselves and for key personnel at the time a proposal is submitted. Other investigators are encouraged to complete the same training. In any case, all investigators and members of their research teams are required to be familiar with The Belmont Report and the federal regulations at 45 CFR 46.

Here are links to two on-line training programs:

  1. NIH Training: Website training for social and behavioral sciences research with human subjects.
    http://phrp.nihtraining.com/users

  2. CITI Training: Collaborative Institutional Training Institute
    www.citiprogram.org