

Minutes of the 9th meeting of The Graduate Council 2017-2018

Date and Time: Monday, July 23, 2018

Place: Room 313, Administration Building

Attendance: Dr. Scott Baugh, Ms. Anne Chalex-Boyle, Dr. Claudia Cogliser,

Dr. Courtney Meyers, Professor Robert Perl, Dr. Trent Seltzer,

Dr. Doug Smith, Dr. Walter Smith, Dr. Leslie Thompson

Ex-officio: Dr. David Doerfert, Dr. Kristi Gaines, Dr. Mark Sheridan

Visitors: Dr. Hansel. Burley, Dr. Abby Chowning, Dr. Fanni Coward,

Dr. Gary Fleishman, Dr. Angela Lumpkin, Dr. Caleb Phillips.

I. The Graduate Council minutes are available in the Graduate School office and on the Graduate School website at www.depts.ttu.edu/gradschool.

II. A motion was made by Courtney Meyers and seconded by Anne Chalex-Boyle to approve the minutes from the 8th meeting of the Graduate Council held on Thursday, May 3, 2018. The Graduate Council approved these minutes.

III. Students admitted to Doctoral Candidacy.

The following students were admitted to candidacy for the doctorate on the recommendation of their departments. A motion was made by Courtney Meyers and seconded by Leslie Thompson to approve the May-July list along with a list of students that were admitted incorrectly. The Graduate Council approved the candidate list.

Muna Alabed Personal Financial Planning Evan Albright Educational Psychology

Amal Aljaddani Geosciences

Maryam Almasifard Agricultural and Applied Economics

Reem Alqahtani Economics Ilan Arvelo Yagua Animal Sciences

Shelliann Barnum Family and Consumer Science Education

Deepika Bedi Chemistry

Nicole Borrenpohl Technical Communication & Rhetoric

Amal Bouyanfif Plant and Soil Science

CaseyCamorsBusiness AdministrationSteeleCampbellPersonal Financial PlanningJeffreyChandlerBusiness AdministrationStacyChavezBusiness Administration

Chen Chen English

Ruizhi Chen Personal Financial Planning
Madhav Dhakal Plant and Soil Science
There are Known Discourants Muslimmed Civil Engineering

Tharanga Kumara Dissanayaka Mudiyanselage Civil Engineering

HiraFarooqPhysicsShipraGargChemistryKholoudGhanemBiologyMD NazmulHassanMathematics

Sherre Heider Curriculum and Instruction

Manil Hettiwatte Civil Engineering

Melissa Ingram Curriculum and Instruction

Md RafiulIslamMathematicsWilliamJerginsEconomics

TalaKarkarCurriculum and InstructionAzizKoyuncuCurriculum and InstructionMeganKuceraEducational Psychology

Jack Labriola Technical Communication & Rhetoric

Leila Lesanpezeshki Chemical Engineering

Rui Liu Geosciences

Kristen Lyons Educational Psychology

Chamila Manankandayalage Chemistry
Elahe Masoumzadeh Chemistry

Trevor McIntyre Experimental Psychology
Samer Melhem Media and Communication

Cayla Minaiy Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy

JenniferMorrisonCurriculum and InstructionThi Xuan LienNguyenCurriculum and InstructionMasoudNorouzi DarabadChemical EngineeringPouriaNourianChemical Engineering

Kristopher O'Neil Technical Communication & Rhetoric

Tosha Opheim Animal Sciences
Syed Osman Economics
Maria Pitalua Padriguaz Camputar Science

Mario Pitalua Rodriguez Computer Science

JinchunQiuChemistrySamiurRahmanChemistry

Frances Ray Agricultural Education
Cesar Riojas Curriculum and Instruction
Amede Rubio Plant and Soil Science
Katherine Shaw Environmental Toxicology

Molin Shi Clinical Psychology

Kate Simonian English Sueli Del Carmen Skinner Ramos Physics

Joel Sugg Animal Sciences

MarcSuttonMusicIroroTanshiBiologyWilliamTaylorEnglish

Charity Tran Technical Communication & Rhetoric

Courtney Vojtko History Zhixing Wang Physics

Hui Wang Industrial Engineering
Wei Xie Computer Science

Xianwu Zhang Personal Financial Planning

Yun Zhou Chemistry

Yaqiong Zhu Nutritional Sciences

Qingya Zou Chemistry

List of students admitted to candidacy incorrectly

Hira Farooq **Physics** Ishtiaque Ahmed Physic Hawra Alghasham **Physics** Giammarco Turriziani Colonna **Physics Physics** Ahmad Khayyat Jafari Nafiz Jaidye **Physics** Tielige Mengke **Physics** Samila Muthumuni **Physics Jigesh Physics** Patel Sumera Siddique **Physics** Eric Sowell **Physics**

IV. Academic Requests

All of the following come with a motion of approval from the sub-committee. A second was made by Claudia Cogliser to approve all of the following. The Graduate Council approved.

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

BIOL 6370: Metagenomic Analysis (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

KIN 6318: Experimental Design in Exercise Physiology (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

SPAN 5356: Seminar in Hispanic Culture (change in *course title* from Seminar in Hispanic

Culture: Hispanic urban Cultural Studies)

SPMT 5344: Applied Issues in Sports Analytics (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

EDWARD E. WHITACRE JR. COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

ECE 5314: Solid State Devices (3:3:0:0) (change in *credit/contact* hours)

COLLEGE OF HUMAN SCIENCES

RETL 6310: Retail Trend Analysis (3:3:0:0) (change in *course number* from 5330)

RETL 6353: Retail Management Marketing Research (3:3:0:0) (change in course number from

5353)

RHIM 6353: Hospitality Marketing Research (3:3:0:0) (change in *course number* from 5353)

COLLEGE OF VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS

THA 5311: Advanced Directing (change in *credit/contact hours* to 3:3:0:0 and *activity type* to remove)

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

New Track: Language, Diversity, and Literacy Studies (LDLS) (24 hours)

New Track: Curriculum Studies and Teacher Education (CSTE) (24 hours)

New Track: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) (24 hours)

EDLL 5344: Content Area and Disciplinary Literacy Methods (change in title from Content Area

Literacy Methods for Primary and Elementary Literacy Development)

EPSY 6310: Meta Analysis (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

EPSY 6320: Foundations of Mixed Methods Research (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

EPSY 6330: Cognition and Instruction (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

JERRY S. RAWLS COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

BA 6300: Advanced Business Research Methods (3:3:0:0) (*Addition*)

V. Graduate Faculty

The following reappointments and new graduate faculty applications come with a motion of approval from the sub-committee and was seconded by Anne Chalex-Boyle. The Graduate Council approved the application with a vote of 8 approve and 1 abstain.

Reappointments in the Department of Agricultural Education & Communications

Barry L. Boyd Gary Briers Scott Cummings Kim Dooley Chandra Elbert Julie Harlin Lori Moore Theresa Murphrey Tim Murphy Robert Strong Tracy Rutherford Gary Wingenbach

Reappointments in the Department of Natural Resources Management

Tom Arsuffi

John Baccus

Brent Bibles

James Cain

Daniel Collins

Drew Dittmer

Sarah Fritts

Timothy Fulbright

Timothy Grabowski

Louis Harveson

David Haukos

David Hewitt

Robert Parmenter

New Graduate Faculty Applications

Animal & Food Sciences

Tyson Brown Nancy Loes

Educational Psychology & Leadership

Daniel Bontempo

Mechanical Engineering

Alan A. Barhorst Craig Snoeyink

Nutritional Sciences

Oak-Hee Park

Page 6.

VI. Old Business

None

VII. New Business

Dean Sheridan has asked the Graduate Council to be thinking about adopting a policy for Grade Replacement. He stated like considering to allow the students to replace a grade of C or lower.

Leslie Thompson asked about the matching grants/funds for research assistants. Dean Sheridan mentioned that all monies have been committed.

VII. Announcements

The next Graduate Council will be on Thursday, September 6. 2018

The meeting was adjourned at 3:37 p.m.