Texas Tech University

Dr. Cindy Akers

Dr. Cindy Akers

Dr. Cindy Akers earned her Ed.D in curriculum and instruction with an emphasis in agricultural education in 2000 at Texas Tech University, where she also earned her Master of Science in agricultural education in 1992. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree in interdisciplinary agriculture with an emphasis in agricultural communications in 1991 at Texas Tech. She was named Interim Dean of the Texas Tech University Davis College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources in June 2021.

A native of Estancia, New Mexico, Akers joined the Texas Tech faculty as an instructor in 1997 earning promotion to assistant professor in 2000, associate professor in 2006 and full professor in 2011. She was named Davis College's Assistant Dean in 2011 and Associate Dean for Academic & Student Programs in 2013. During that time she also served as coordinator of the agricultural communications undergraduate program and director of the college's Dr. Bill Bennett Student Success Center.

As interim dean, Akers is responsible for fulfilling the academic mission of the college, including curriculum planning and assessment for more than 2,400 undergraduate and 400 graduate students across 13 majors in seven departments. Her associate dean duties included overseeing the college's undergraduate enrollment management initiatives (student recruitment and retention), and supporting student co-curricular activities to enhance student engagement (organizations, clubs, events, competitions). In addition, she interpreted, assessed, and made recommendations on university policies and procedures and disseminated these policies to students, faculty and staff.

In terms of leadership development, Akers participated in the Food Systems Leadership Institute (2020-2022); LEAD 21 (2006); and the Kellog Foundation Food Systems Professions Education Networking (2000). She was named president of the Non-land-grant Agriculture and Renewable Resources Universities (2019), and a Fellow in the American Association for Agricultural Education (AAAE) in 2017. She is the past president of the AAAE-Western Region, and has served as chair of Texas Tech's Teaching Academy, a group of some 200 members from throughout the university supporting, promoting and recognizing teaching excellence.

Honors include the AAAE-Western Region Distinguished Teaching Award (2011), Texas Tech's Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award (2005), Texas Tech President's Excellence in Teaching Award (2005), Texas Tech Parents Association's Hemphill-Wells New Professor of Excellence in Teaching Award (2004), and the Texas Tech Alumni Association Outstanding New Faculty Award (2004).

Akers is a member of the American Association for Agricultural Education, National Association of College Teachers of Agriculture, Agricultural Consortium of Texas, National Association of Non Land Grant Agricultural and Renewable Resource Universities, Association of Public and Land Grant Universities, Academic Programs, Great Plains IDEA, and Ag IDEA Board. Other professional service activities include State and National FFA, along with Texas 4-H.


Dr. Cindy Akers
Interim Dean | 806.742.2808