Texas Tech University

Davis College Research Award

Criteria: The intent of this award is to recognize outstanding research, scholarship and creative activity of faculty members. Nominees must be current faculty members at TTU and have been a member of the faculty for a minimum of three years. An individual may receive this award only one time. Recipients will be individuals who have achieved national or international recognition for work done at TTU as judged by one or more of the following measures:

  • Publication in "top" journals, according to the discipline
  • Creative work presented in nationally recognized venues (juried exhibitions, performances, etc.)
  • Invited presentations at symposia (or their equivalent) at national and international meetings
  • Service on editorial boards (or their equivalent) for nationally and internationally recognized journals
  • Peer-reviewed externally funded research projects; Patents, patent applications and license agreements
  • Other measures appropriate to the individual's discipline

Required documents for this award include a copy of the nominee's vita, a support document from the chair/department (maximum of one page), and teaching evaluation form. The teaching evaluation form may be accessed on the Davis College website. The college recognition will take place at the Davis College fall faculty retreat. The award will be accompanied by a cash gift and a plaque.

Nomination: Nominations received from departmental faculty through the Chairs.

Timeline: Nominations due to Davis College Administrative Council in May. Selections made in June.

Presentation: Davis College Awards Banquet in August.

Recent Winners:

  • 2021: Amy Boren-Alpizar, Associate Professor, Department of Agricultural Education & Communications
  • 2020: Carlos Carpio, Department of Agricultural & Applied Economics
  • 2019: John McGlone, Department of Animal & Food Sciences
  • 2018: Jyotsna Sharma, Department of Plant & Soil Science
  • 2017: Venugopal Mendu, Department of Plant & Soil Science
  • 2016: Terry McLendon, Department of Natural Resources Management
  • 2015: Peter Dotray, Department of Plant & Soil Science
  • 2014: Brad Dabbert, Department of Natural Resources Management
  • 2013: Brad Johnson, Department of Animal & Food Sciences
  • 2012: Noureddine Abidi, Department of Plant & Soil Science
  • 2011: Darren Hudson, Department of Agricultural & Applied Economics