Texas Tech University

CASNR Water Center

Faculty

Director

Chuck West

Chuck West
Email: chuck.west@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-4160
Research Interests:

  • Efficiency of crop irrigation to promote profitable yields at low water use
  • Improving forage utilization by cattle and to make most efficient use of limited water supplies
  • Administrator of the Texas Alliance for Water Conservation

Plant Science

Mark Burow

Mark Burow
Email: md.burow@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-5717
Research Interests:

  • Peanut breeding and molecular genetics aimed at increasing water use efficiency
Benildo de los Reyes

Benildo de los Reyes
Email: benildo.reyes@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6421
Research Interests:

  • Translating regulatory genetic mechanisms learned with rice to understand traits conferring salinity and drought tolerance in cotton
Eric Hequet

Eric Hequet
Email: eric.hequet@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-0621
Research Interests:

  • Develop improved testing methods for cotton fiber quality
  • Collaboration research with the cotton breeding and biotechnology community to improve properties of cotton fibers
Luis Rafael Herrera-Estrella

Luis Rafael Herrera-Estrella
Email: luis.herrera-estrella@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-7247
Research Interests:

  • Functional genomics of water deficit, salinity, and nutrient stress responses in crops
Haydee Laza

Haydee Laza
Email: haydee.laza@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-8457
Research Interests:

  • Applied plant physiology and agroecosystem functioning across biological and temporal scales
Scott Longing

Scott Longing
Email: scott.longing@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-1965
Research Interests:

  • Assessment, conservation, and restoration of insect biodiversity in Southern U.S. ecosystems.
Wenxuan Guo

Wenxuan Guo
Email: wenxuan.guo@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-2266
Research Interests:

  • Remote sensing, precision agriculture, and variable rate irrigation of unmanned aerial systems in precision plant phenotyping
Thayne Montague

Thayne Montague
Email: thayne.montague@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-7311
Research Interests:

  • Plant physiology and plant-microclimate interactions
  • Drought tolerance of woody ornamental plants, grapevines, and other fruit crops
Venugopal Mendu

Venugopal Mendu
Email: venugopal.mendu@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6327
Research Interests:

  • Identify and characterize genes involved in cell wall biosynthesis in Arabidopsis and apply to cotton fiber improvement
Glen Ritchie

Glen Ritchie
Email: glen.ritchie@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-4325
Research Interests:

  • Develop effective and economical water management strategies for crop production in the Southern High Plains
Jyotsna Sharma

Jyotsna Sharma
Email: jyotsna.sharma@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-2637
Research Interests:

  • Interaction of biotic and abiotic processes over spatial, temporal, and taxonomic scales to explain the dynamics of angiosperm populations and communities
Catherine Simpson

Catherine Simpson
Email: catherine.simpson@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-5691
Research Interests:

  • Water conservation and sustainability in urban systems
  • Alternative water sources and their application in urban systems and horticultural crops
Sukhbir Singh

Sukhbir Singh
Email: s.singh@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-3108
Research Interests:

  • Water-efficient vegetable production in urban or small-scale systems
Joey Young

Joey Young
Email: joey.young@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-8457
Research Interests:

  • Improved turfgrass management in water-limited conditions

Soil Science

Veronica Acosta-Martinez

Veronica Acosta-Martinez
Email: veronica.acostamart@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (806) 723-5233
Research Interests:

  • Soil health-climate interactions on microbial diversity and functions
Sanjit Deb

Sanjit Deb
Email: sanjit.deb@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-1373
Research Interests:

  • Soil physics and water resources management in water-limited and irrigated agricultural production systems in natural and managed ecosystems
Matthew Siebecker

Matthew Siebecker
Email: matthew.siebecker@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-0266
Research Interests:

  • Environmental soil and water chemistry concerning soil mineral cycling and heavy metal contamination of flooded soils.
Lindsey Slaughter

Lindsey Slaughter
Email: lindsey.slaughter@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-1345
Research Interests:

  • Soil microbial community structure, function, and interactions with other biota affect and as affected by environmental disturbance

Natural Resources & Ecology

Tom Arsuffi

Tom Arsuffi
Email: tom.arsuffi@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6918
Research Interests:

  • Aquatic and watershed ecology and environmental education
Cade Coldren

Cade Coldren
Email: cade.coldren@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-4976
Research Interests:

  • Landscape ecohydrology and modeling
Warren Conway

Warren Conway
Email: warren.conway@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6579
Research Interests:

  • Ecologically relevant and applied wildlife population, conservation, and management
Robert Cox

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 742-1983
Research Interests:

  • Community and restoration ecology, conservation of rare and endemic plant species
  • Ecology of invasive species
Phil Gipson

Phil Gipson
Email: philip.gipson@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-7747
Research Interests:

  • Responses of wildlife populations and plant and animal communities to environmental change and impacts of human activity
Kerry Griffis-Kyle

Kerry Griffis-Kyle
Email: kerry.griffis-kyle@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-2619
Research Interests:

  • Human impacts, including climate change, on wetlands and wetland dependent species
  • Management strategies to mitigate stressors on sensitive natural resources
Gad Perry

Gad Perry
Email: gad.perry@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-2339
Research Interests:

  • Conservation issues and intensifying impacts of humans on the environment, including urban ecosystems and international development
Carlos Portillo-Quintero

Carlos Portillo-Quintero
Email: carlos.portillo@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-7309
Research Interests:

  • Land use/land cover dynamics for efficient ecosystem management, wildlife studies, watershed management, urban/rural ecology and climate change adaptation
Carlos Villalobos

Carlos Villalobos
Email: c.villalobos@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-5248
Research Interests:

  • Use and conservation of natural resources applied to the effects of grazing, water usage, and prescribed burning on vegetation and animal response

Animal Science

Darren Henry

Darren Henry
Email: darren.henry@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-7747
Research Interests:

  • Improving cattle performance and efficiency through reduced methane production in water-limited grazing systems.

Agricultural Economics

Michael Farmer

Michael Farmer
Email: michael.farmer@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6996
Research Interests:

  • Long-run surface water and groundwater management and planning
  • Zoning practices that accommodate changes in commercial and residential landscapes
Phil Johnson

Phil Johnson
Email: phil.johnson@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-0474
Research Interests:

  • Economics of agricultural water management and policy issues
Donna Mitchell McCallister

Donna Mitchell McCallister
Email: donna.m.mitchell@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-7189
Research Interests:

  • Economics of crop water use and food scarcity, water policy, and sustainability of agricultural production
Shaikh Mahfuz Rahman

Shaikh Mahfuz Rahman
Email: shaikh.m.rahman@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-0505
Research Interests:

  • Environmental, energy, development economics, and organization of agricultural supply chains
Chenggang Wang

Chenggang Wang
Email: chenggang.wang@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6238
Research Interests:

  • Natural resource economics and rural development, with a focus on land, water, and the behavior of low-income households whose livelihoods depend on those resources

Agriculture Education

Courtney Meyers

Courtney Meyers
Email: courtney.meyers@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-4364
Research Interests:

  • Impacts of outreach on shaping public perception of water conservation practices.
Rudy Ritz

Rudy Ritz
Email: rudy.ritz@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-4807
Research Interests:

  • Development of effective education practices in training teachers and professionals.

Urban Environmental

Eric Bernard

Eric Bernard
Email: eric.bernard@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-3482
Research Interests:

  • Coupled modeling for holistic, transdisciplinary, eco-human-water systems planning and design aimed at resiliency
  • Cutting edge GIS-GIScience, GeoDesign and LiDAR integration in multi-dimensional solutions spanning scales and system dynamics
Sukhbir Singh

Sukhbir Singh
Email: s.singh@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-3108
Research Interests:

  • Water-efficient vegetable production in urban or small-scale systems
Jason Sowell

Jason Sowell
Email: jason.sowell@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-6247
Research Interests:

  • Analysis of how technology informs design, spatial experience, and landscape performance in urban settings
Joey Young

Joey Young
Email: joey.young@ttu.edu
Phone: (806) 834-8457
Research Interests:

  • Improved turfgrass management in water-limited conditions
field watering system

Helpful Links

Mission Statement

The CASNR Water Center serves as a focal point for information exchange pertaining to grant opportunities, meetings, education, research, and policy issues related to water use, conservation, and analysis in rural, urban, and natural environments.