

TEXAS TECH

TEXAS TECH HUCKABEE COLLEGE OF ARCHITECTURE



To promote public interest in architecture, recognize excellence in design, promote the work of Texas Tech University Huckabee College of Architecture Alumni

To provide a sustainable source of funds for scholarships for students of the Texas Tech University Huckabee College of Architecture 2024 HONOR AWARD: SUNSET



Micah Land, AIA PERKINS & WILL

Growing up in North Texas as the son of a nurse and an ironworker/painter, Micah developed an early appreciation for craftsmanship, creativity, and the human experience. These influences shaped his dedication to thoughtful design-one that elicits emotion, fosters community, and promotes cultural equity. With over 20 years of experience, Micah has led a diverse range of projects across the U.S., from large-scale mixed-use urban developments to boutique hospitality spaces and custom residential homes. His approach is rooted in the belief that great design should be accessible, meaningful, and intentional-honest in its execution and uplifting in its impact. Outside of work, Micah finds joy in surfing, fishing, and kicking a soccer ball around with his two daughters.



Pavlina Ilieva, AIA PI.KL

Pavlina Ilieva, AIA is Principal and Co-founder of PI.KL Studio – an award-winning practice engaged in architecture, design/build and micro-development. The firm's work spans across the commercial housing and hospitality, workplace and urban housing scales as well as varied communitybased and open space projects for non-profit organizations, private and local government entities.

An experienced educator, she also served as Program Director of the Undergraduate Architecture and Environmental Design Program at Morgan State University and is recipient of two national ACSA Architectural Education Awards for her work in fostering diversity in Beginning Design Pedagogy and Housing Design Education. She has published, lectured and juried nationally and is a 2018 Fellow of the Landscape Architecture Foundation CSI Program.

Pavlina serves as Chair of the Urban Design and Architecture Advisory Panel (UDAAP) for the Baltimore City Department of Planning, which provides design review and professional design assistance for significant projects and master plans throughout the city.



Stuart Brummett, AIA 4240 ARCHITECTURE

Stuart Brummett, AIA, is a Lubbock native and Class of 2000 graduate of Texas Tech University. After being amongst the first to complete the dual Master of Architecture and Master of Business Administration degree program, Stuart opted to leave Texas for a "couple year" adventure as an architectural intern in Vail, Colorado – an attempt to justify skiing during lunch and bagging 14ers on the weekends. 25 years later, he still calls Colorado home and is currently an Associate Principal at 4240 Architecture in Denver.

Prior to assuming his current role, Stuart has worked with a number of esteemed colleagues and firms including Morter Architects (Vail, CO), CCY Architects (Aspen, CO), and Clayton & Little Architects (Austin, TX). Additionally, Stuart Brummett co-owned Blueline Architects, a boutique design firm with offices in Vail and Denver for nearly a decade. One of his proudest achievements is a yearlong sabbatical spent volunteering as an interim staff architect with Engineering Ministries International in Kampala, Uganda.







ALL SUBMISSIONS MUST INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING

THREE SEPARATE PDFs (15MB Maximum file size per PDF):

- 1. PROJECT DATA SHEET: Provide all relevant information about the project program, schedule, cost and square footage.
- 2. PROJECT NARRATIVE: Description of the design problem, the influencing factors on the design and a description of the design solution.
- 3. PROJECT GRAPHICS/PHOTOGRAPHY (12 SLIDES MAXIMUM): All information necessary, including photographs, to graphically illustrate the design concept/ design solution. A graphic scale should be included on all applicable drawings.

IMPORTANT

- 1. Submissions by an entrant ("Entrant") must be received no later than July 11, 2025 (23:59 hours US Central Daylight Time) and must be submitted online via this link: surveymonkey.com/r/2TTPYQG.
- 2. A non-refundable payment of \$300 is required for each project submitted. Payments may be made at give.ttu.edu/dla. There is no limit to the number of projects that may be submitted for design award consideration. Any questions about payment should be sent to Yssis Hotchkins (yhotchki@ttu.edu).
- 3. The entrant MUST NOT self-identify (e.g. company or individual name, logo) on any of the submission PDFs.
- 4. By submitting an entry, the Entrant confirms that they have created all work submitted (the "Entry") or otherwise has the legal right to submit the Entry to this competition and that any required permissions or licenses associated with submission of the Entry has been obtained from the creator and/or owner (as applicable). Texas Tech University and the Texas Tech University Huckabee College of Architecture (together, "TTU") have no responsibility to verify ownership of the Entry and is not liable for any claims arising out of the use of the Entry. ENTRANT AGREES TO INDEMNIFY AND HOLD HARMLESS TTU, INCLUDING THEIR RESPECTIVE OFFICERS, EMPLOYEES, AND AGENTS FROM ANY AND ALL CLAIMS, DAMAGES, LIABILITY, INCLUDING EXPENSES RELATED TO THE ENTRY. Further, by submitting the Entry, Entrant grants TTU an irrevocable non-exclusive license to display or publish the Entry or images of the Entry as well as Entrant's name for publicity and marketing of the competition.
- 5. Any questions regarding submission should be sent by email to Scott Hall (scott@hallarchitecturestudio.com).

A submission may be disqualified if it is not in full compliance with the requirements above.

The Texas Tech University Huckabee College of Architecture reserves the right to expand any prize category and designate special awards per discretion of the competition jury.

Submissions must be submitted electronically by:July 11, 2025Notification of winners:TBDTexas Tech Reception at TxA Convention (Dallas):October 30, 2025

Announcement of winners to coincide with Texas Society of Architects annual conference.

2024 HONOR AWARD: COSMIC SALTILLO Austin, TX · Clayton Korte

SPACE

2024 HONOR AWARD: CHRIST CHURCH ANGLICAN Midland, TX · Rhotenberry Wellen Architects

the state of the

0

0.9