Texas Tech University

MFA: Printmaking Concentration


The Master of Fine Arts (MFA) program in art with a concentration in printmaking is a 3-year program and has a 40-year history of producing top MFA professionals in this field. Alumni of this graduate program are located in art faculty and art administration positions throughout the country. The School of Art is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.

The program is structured to give the student the ability to explore the various aspects of printmaking and its link with contemporary technology. In addition to a major area of study, which is 21 credit hours, the student is recommended to complete 12 credit hours in a minor area of study. Each student receives a studio space and 24-hour access to the facility.

Individual and group critiques are an important part of the program and reviews of student work are conducted by the printmaking faculty intermittently during the semester. A review of current work is conducted by School of Art faculty at the end of each semester. To complete the requirements for the MFA degree the student is required to write a report, pass an oral review, and have a public exhibition of thesis work. The faculty member's role is to provide the guidance, expertise, and judgment needed in helping students achieve their artistic goals and to realize their full potential as artists.

MFA students are also encouraged to join the Tech Print Club, which is a professional/social club that raises money to assist funding for visiting artists and attendance of the students at the Southern Graphics Council Conference each year, where they participate in the open portfolio session to receive critical commentary from faculty and printmakers around the world. Visiting artists are scheduled each semester to deliver lectures and/or conduct workshops and provide student critiques to supplement the instruction of the program. Individual and group critiques are an important part of the course. In the past, artists have included Drive by Press, Buzz Spector, Ed Bernstein and Michael Miller.

The Printmaking area also hosts the national juried exhibition, Beyond Printmaking, which brings in recognized jurors to curate an exhibition of works that explore, expand, stretch and break the notions of printmaking. BP5 2017 brought in Patricia Villalobos-Echeverria as juror with Erik Watterkote and Jon Goebel as panelists during the BP5 Symposium and Print Fair.  Other jurors include Anita Jung, Holly Morrison and Kevin Haas.


Stacy Elko (MFA)  

Sangmi Yoo (MFA)

Graduate Students

Brianna Barry: Third Year
Andrew Lawson: Second Year


Monica Prado
Kristine Johnson
Stephanie Berrie
Liv Johnson
Yuliya Makarova
James Chase
Chris Adams
Michael Glenn
Annie Geddicks
Juanita Exiga Wyatt


MFA Experimental Time-based Work (Vimeo)


Artist Printmaker/Photographer Research Collection at the Museum of Texas Tech University

Visiting Artists

Printmaking Studio Guide & Safety Plan