Texas Tech University

Erin Alvarado

Head Pom Squad Coach

Email: erin.harold@ttu.edu

Phone: 806.742.5433

Erin (Harold) Alvarado enters her 13th year as the Pom Squad Coach at Texas Tech University, boasting a remarkable tenure marked by significant achievements. Under her leadership, the Texas Tech Pom Squad secured its inaugural national championship in Division 1A Jazz at NDA in 2017, followed by a series of consecutive victories, clinching titles in 1A Jazz in 2017, 2018, and 2021, as well as 1A Pom in 2018, 2019, and 2021. Notably, in 2022, the squad represented the USA at the ICU World Championships, emerging triumphant as the Gold Medalists in the jazz division. 

Throughout her tenure, Erin's teams have showcased their talent on global stages, including representing the USA at Shanghai's Tourism Festival and performing alongside the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders. Graduates from her program have garnered positions with prestigious teams such as the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders, Houston Texans Cheerleaders, Kansas City Chiefs, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Norwegian Cruise Lines, among others.

An alumna of West Virginia University, Erin holds a bachelor's degree in exercise physiology with a minor in dance. Her expertise extends beyond coaching, as she serves as an adjudicator for various dance organizations, including NDA, UDA, USA, USASF, PrimeTime Dance, and Showbiz Talent. She has also contributed internationally, judging competitions in Tokyo, Japan, and Australia. 

In addition to her coaching role, Erin serves as an Adjunct Dance Faculty member at Texas Tech, teaching a diverse range of dance disciplines including Anatomy for Dance, Jazz, Tap, and Pedagogy. Recognized for her contributions, she has been invited as a guest speaker at conferences hosted by Varsity, NDCA, Crowd Pleasers, and USASF. She has also contributed content for CLI Studios. Erin's accolades include being named the National Collegiate Dance Coach of the Year by the National Dance Coaches Association in 2019.
Erin Alvarado

Quick Facts

  • 13th year at Texas Tech, Head Coach
  • From Wheeling, West Virginia
  • Former Collegiate Dancer at West Virginia University
  • Varsity Brands Adjudicator & Head Judge
  • USASF/IASF Contemporary/Lyrical Category Director
  • Texas Tech University Adjunct Faculty Member
  • 2019 National Collegiate Coach of the Year

Texas Tech Spirit Program