Texas Tech University

Distinguished Engineer Citations

Distinguished Engineer Photo: Dale A. Courtney
Dale A. Courtney

Dale A. Courtney

Distinguished Engineer



Industrial Engineering – 1971



At Time of Nomination in 1999

Dale A. Courtney received his Bachelor of Science Degree in Industrial Engineering in 1970 and completed his Master of Science in Industrial Engineering in 1971.

Mr. Courtney served as the Director of Engineering Services in the Office of the Dean of Engineering from 1970 through 1976. In 1976, he was hired as an Engineer in the Oil Field Services Group of Armco National Company. In 1978, he was appointed as President of the National Cementers and Acidizers in Grand Junction, Colorado.

In 1982, Mr. Courtney returned to Dallas, Texas and formed Information Services with two other Texas Tech alumni. He became head of sales and services. He moved to Concorde Financial Corporation in 1985, and was involved in bringing the first Lithotripter to the United States and installed it at the Texas Medical Center in Houston, Texas.

In 1987, he accepted a position as Manager of Software Engineering and Development with FSI, International in Chaska, Minnesota. In 1992, he became the President of the Surface Division of FSI, International. He was appointed to the Board of Directors of M.FSI, Ltd.–Japan in 1992; which is a joint venture with Mitsui and FSI, which is located in Japan. In 1998, he was appointed as the Executive Vice President of FSI, International. Acquisition of the wholly owned Immersion Systems Group within the Surface Conditioning Division was just completed in 1999.

Mr. Courtney is a member of the American Management Association, and served as a member of the Governor’s Technology Joint Commission with Israel from 1994 through 1996. He is also a member of the Materials Research Society, the National Chamber of Commerce, and the Industrial Engineering Advisory Board at Texas Tech University.

Texas Tech University is proud to name Dale A. Courtney DISTINGUISHED ENGINEER.

Return to the Past Winners page.