

Excellence in International Journalism Awards & Graduate Student Research Symposium

"Profiles in Journalistic Courage"

Hall of the Nations | Texas Tech University International Cultural Center Friday, March 28, 2025

Awards Ceremony

10:00 - Welcome & Remarks

Dr. Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, C.R. Hutcheson Professor in Human Development & Family Sciences, Vice Provost for International Affairs

Dr. Lyombe Eko, Endowed Professor in Innovation, Journalism & Information

Dr. Bey-Ling Sha, Dean, College of Media & Communication

Dr. Ronald Hendrick, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

10:35 - Recognition of Guest Journalists & Award Presentations

Excellence in International Journalism Awards Yoani Sanchez & Mimi Mefo

Courage in International Journalism Awards Alexandre Niyungeko and Agnes Ndirubusa (Burundi & Belgium)

Courage in International Journalism Award in the U.S. Mexico Borderlands Jorge Luis Sierra, Co-founder and President of the Border Center for Journalists and Bloggers

Presentation of Autographed Books to Provost Hendrick and Dean Sha

11:00 - Keynote Addresses by Yoani Sanchez & Mimi Mefo

Introduction of Yoani Sanchez, Journalist & Editorial Director of 14YMedio.com, Havana Cuba Professor Kent Wilkinson, Director, HIHIC

Address by Yoani Sanchez

Introduction of Mimi Mefo, Journalist from Cameroon & Deutsche Welle, Germany Professor Glenn Cummins, Interim Chair, JCMI

Address by Mimi Mefo, Journalist from Cameroon/Deutsche Welle (Germany)

11:45 – Focus on Human Rights and Freedom in Africa: The Case of Burundi

Lyombe Eko, Morris Endowed Professor Alexandre Niyungeko, President, Union of Burundi Journalists Agnes Ndirubusa, Iwacu Press Group Floriane Irangabiye, Radio Igicaniro via Zoom Christine Kamikazi, Bonesha FM, Bujumbura, Burundi via Zoom Sandra Muhoza, La Nova Burundi (still in prison)

12:15 - Question and Answer Session & Photographs with Guests

12:30 – Lunch Break: Buffet Catered by Top Tier Catering

01:30 - MCOM Borderlands Journalism Initiative: Threats to Journalists in the Borderlands between United States and Mexico

Jorge Luis Sierra, Co-founder and President of the Border Center for Journalists and Bloggers Introduced by Lyombe Eko & Melissa Santillana, Assistant Professor, COMC.

Graduate Student Research Presentations International Communication & Human Rights

02:00-03:00 Graduate Student Presentation Sessions: Concurrent

Session 01: Hall of Nations

Jeffery Acheampong Adu (Doctoral Student)
Diffusion And Reinvention of ICT:
An Exploratory Study of Artificial Intelligence in Ghana and Kenya.

Ashraf Goni, Doctoral Candidate, ABD Ethical Considerations of Generative AI in Journalism: A Case Study of New York-Based Bangla Ethnic Media

Mir Hasib Artificial Intelligence Policy and Ethics: A Comparative Study of the U.S., EU, and UN Approaches

Respondent: Professors Melissa Santillana

Session 02: Room 105

Alasana Camara (doctoral student)

Diffusion and Adoption of Artificial Intelligence in Africa: A Comparative Exploratory Study of Nigeria, Rwanda and Ethiopia

Mahedi Hasan (doctoral student), Md Sajedul Islam, Naeem Ahmed, MD. Zahid Hasan, Jahidul Islam, Tanjila Islam

Media, Movement, and Meaning:

A Framing Analysis of the 2024 Bangladesh Quota Reform Movement

Lyombe Eko and Lauren Tortella

Caught in the Ethnic Crossfire: A Policy Analysis of Disinformation and Counter-Disinformation About Children in the Russo-Ukrainian War of 2022.

Respondent: Professor Sarah Schiffecker

03:00 – Reassemble in Hall of the Nations for Q & A with presenters

03:15 - Concluding Comments

Professor Coy Callison, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, College of Media & Communication

Dinner & Journalists' Reception

06:00 - Welcome and General Introduction:

Lyombe Eko, Endowed Professor in Innovation, Journalism & Information Buffet Dinner Catered by Top Tier Catering

06:45 - Performance

Ugandan Ethnomusicology Group, TTU School of Music

07:00 - Introduction of Awardees & Guests

African Journalists' Presentations: Challenges of Journalism in Burundi Alexandre Niyungeko, President, Union of Burundi Journalists Agnes Ndirubusa, Iwacu Press Group Floriane Irangabiye, Radio Igicaniro Christine Kamikazi, Bonesha FM, Bujumbura, Burundi Sandra Muhoza, La Nova Burundi (still in prison) Introduction: Lyombe Eko, William S. Morris Professor in Innovation, Journalism and Information.

07:50 – Virtual Tours

14yMedio.com with Yoani Sanchez Mimi Mefo Info & Deutsche Welle Africa with Mimi Mefo Newuh

08:20 - Graduate Research at the College of Media and Communication

Professor Justin Keene, Associate Dean for Research

08:30 - Recognition of Graduate Student Participants

08:40 – Book Signing

Yoani Sanchez

08:40 - Book Launch

Lyombe Eko, Afuh Awasom Associate Librarian, TTU

08:55 - Closing Remarks

Professor Coy Callison, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

End of Symposium

Co-sponsors: The College of Media and Communication, the TTU Office of International Affairs, the Harris Institute for Hispanic and International Communication, the Department of Journalism and Creative Media Industries, the CoMC Graduate Program, the CoMC Center for Communication Research, and the William S. Morris Endowed Professorship.



Find more details online: https://shorturl.at/gVVOJ