Texas Tech University

African American Lecture Series


African American Lecture Series – A Brief History

Over the course of the past six years, The African American History Month Lecture Series has featured such distinguished African American writers, artists and public intellectuals as James McBride, Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Tavis Smiley, Angela Davis, Dr. Cornel West, Harry Belafonte, LeVar Burton, Anita Hill and Dr. Michael Eric Dyson. The series' mission is to not only promote African American history, but also to educate and engage the Texas Tech University community and broader public about the contributions regarding the indelible impact African Americans have made on American society and indeed the world.

About Angela Rye, Principal and CEO of IMPACT Strategies

Angela Rye is Principal and CEO of IMPACT Strategies. Featured as an influential politico, lawyer, and advocate by several publications and outlets from Marie Claire to Ebony and the Washington Post, Rye has an unwavering commitment to ensuring positive change in the political process. She is a prominent political strategist who offers regular on-air commentary for several media outlets including BET, CNN, MSNBC, and TV One. The depth of her dialogue ranges from political campaigns to more complex legislation that bears long-term implications nationally and internationally.

Click here for more about Angela Rye

Ticket information

The event is free and open to the public, but space is limited. Tickets are limited to two per person and can be picked up prior to the lecture in Doak Hall, Room 101, on a first-come, first-served basis. Ticket holders must arrive prior to 6:45 p.m. to be seated; failure to arrive and be seated before this time will result in a possible forfeiture of the seat. Any unclaimed seats on the day of the lecture will be made available at 6:45 p.m.

Past Events

Speakers Announced for 2018 African-American History Month Lecture Series

Read more

Levar Burton, Wes Moore to Speak for African-American History Lecture Series

Read more

Harry Belafonte, Cornel West to Speak during African-American History Month

Read more

Texas Tech Hosts African-American History Month Lecture Series

Read more

Lecture Series Continues to Promote African-American Culture, History

Read more




An Evening with Angela Rye

Black Student Association

February 28th | 7pm

TTU Allen Theatre

Read more

Division of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion