Texas Tech University

Celebrate Diversity Awards Banquet: Scholarship Fundraiser

Danny Trejo

Each fall, the Office of Institutional Diversity hosts the Celebrate Diversity Awards Banquet to generate scholarship funds for deserving students, while also recognizing those within the Texas Tech and Lubbock communities who exemplify Inclusive Excellence. Additionally, the recipient(s) of the Senator Robert L. Duncan Community Champion Award are recognized.

The 2022 Celebrate Diversity Awards Banquet was held on Thursday, November 17th. The speaker was author and award-winning actor, activist, and restaurateur Danny Trejo.   

California native Trejo's movie career began in 1985. To date, he has more than 420 acting credits to his name, having starred in films such as Desperado, Heat, From Dusk Til Dawn series, Con Air, Once Upon a Time in Mexico, Machete and Machete Kills. Additionally, he has also enjoyed a very successful career in television and as a voice actor. 

Mr. Trejo's diverse experiences, unique background, and longevity as an award-winning Latino actor, combined with his passion for empowering the next generation, inspired those in attendance.

Past speakers for the event include Edward James Olmos, Terrence Howard, Soledad O'Brien, John Quiñones, Juan Felipe Herrera, Grace Gealey, Dr. Michael Benitez, Ana Navarro, Cyntoia Brown-Long, Dr. Melissa Harris-Perry, and Elizabeth Vargas.


Past Award Recipients

Senator Robert L. Duncan Community Champion Award

2006 Senator Robert L. Duncan
2007 Linda DeLeon
2008 Learn, Inc.
2009 100 Black Men of West Texas
Peggy A. Duran-Klenclo
2010 Eric Strong
2011 Carolina Ysasaga
2012 David Seim
2013 Quincy White
2014 Bart Reagor
2015 Marciano & Martha Morales
2016 Adrienne Cozart
2017 Christy Martinez-Garcia
2018 TJ Patterson
2019 Ms. Glenda Mathis


Dr. Damon H. Hill, Jr.


Eddie McBride

*Recognized Spring 2021


Inclusive Excellence Award Recipients

2009 Kelly Overley
Dr. Juan S. Muñoz
2011 Rene Davis
Calvin Davis
Dr. Lawrence Schovanec
2012 Grace Hernandez
Yuan Shu
2013 Dr. Aliza Wong
Eric Strong
2014 Kirby Hocutt
Cathy Pope
Becky Wilson
2015 Kent Meredith
Chris Snead

Janie Landin Ramirez
Tom Vermillion

2017 Jodie Billingsley
Dr. Wendy Ross
Dr. Gary Elbow
2018 Dr. Judi Henry
Dr. Scott Ridley
2019 Ms. Jody Randall
Dr. Robert Stewart


Dr. Kirsten A. Cook
Dr. Angela Lumpkin


Dr. Margaret L. Williams

Dr. Fernando Valle

*Recognized Spring 2021


For more information regarding the Celebrate Diversity Awards, please email diversity@ttu.edu or call 806-742-7025.