Texas Tech University

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory

Name / Title Email Office / Phone
Ancell, Brian, Associate Professor
Atmospheric Science
brian.ancell@ttu.edu

1216 Media & Comm Bldg        

(806) 834-3143

Asquith, George B., Professor, Pevehouse Chair Emeritus
Carbonate Petrology Petrophysics
george.asquith@ttu.edu

332 Science Building 

(806) 834-7861

Barnes, Calvin G., Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
Igneous Petrology and Geochemistry
cal.barnes@ttu.edu

328 Science Building

(806) 834-7389

Barrick, James E., Professor Emeritus
Micropaleontology and Biostratigraphy
jim.barrick@ttu.edu

220 Science Building

(806) 834-2717

Bruning, Eric, Associate Professor
Atmospheric Science
eric.bruning@ttu.edu

1209 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-3120

Cao, GuofengAssociate Professor and Director, CGST
Geography and Geographic Information Systems
guofeng.cao@ttu.edu

211 Holden Hall

(806) 834-8920

Carter, Perry L., Associate Professor
Geography
perry.carter@ttu.edu

210 Holden Hall

(806) 834-6209

Chatterjee, Sankar, Horn Professor
Vertebrate Paleontology
sankar.chatterjee@ttu.edu

220 Science Building


(806) 834-4590

Dahl, JohannesAssociate Professor
Atmospheric Science
johannes.dahl@ttu.edu

1215 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-6197

Elbow, Gary, Professor Emeritus
Geography
gary.elbow@ttu.edu

210 McClellan Hall

(806) 834-0354

Gurrola, Harold, Associate Professor
Seismology
harold.gurrola@ttu.edu

311 Science Building

(806) 834-8625

Hetherington, Callum J.Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor
Mineralogy and Geochemistry
callum.hetherington@ttu.edu

127 Science Building

(806) 834-3110

Horita, Juske, Professor
Stable Isotope Geochemistry
juske.horita@ttu.edu

216 Science Building

(806) 834-7027

Karlsson, Haraldur, R., Associate Professor
Stable Isotope Geochemistry
hal.karlsson@ttu.edu

207 Science Building

(806) 834-7978

Lee, Jeffrey A., Professor 
Geography
jeff.lee@ttu.edu

212 Holden Hall

(806) 834-8228

Lehman, Thomas L., Professor
Clastic Sedimentology
tom.lehman@ttu.edu

236 Science Building

(806) 834-3148

Leverington, David, Associate Professor
Remote Sensing & Planetary Science
david.leverington@ttu.edu

316 Science Building

(806) 834-5310

Mulligan, Kevin R., Associate  Professor and Chair,   
Geography and Geographic Information Systems
kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu

215 Holden Hall

(806) 834-0391

McAdams, Neo Assistant Professor, 

Micropaleontology and Biostratigraphy

 

neo.mcadams@ttu.edu

222 Science Building 

(806)834-4789

Nagihara, Seiichi, Associate Professor
Geophysics and Geographic Information Systems
seiichi.nagihara@ttu.edu

314 Science Building

(806) 834-4481

Pal, Sandip, Assistant Professor  Atmospheric Sciences

sandip.pal@ttu.edu

1213 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-1326

Peterson, Richard E., Professor Emeritus
Atmospheric Science
richard.peterson@ttu.edu

1115 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-3418

Rainwater, Ken, Professor, Joint with Civil Engineering
Water Resources Management, Groundwater Hydrology
ken.rainwater@ttu.edu

203-D Civil Engineering

(806) 834-7775

Ridley, Moira K., Professor
Aqueous Geochemistry
moira.ridley@ttu.edu

324 Science Bldg

(806) 834-0627

Schroeder, John, Professor
Atmospheric Science

Senior Director, National Wind Institute

john.schroeder@ttu.edu

1205 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-5678

Segvic, Branimir, Assistant Professor
Clay Mineralogy

branimir.segvic@ttu.edu

227 Science Building

(806) 834-2041

Solis, Patricia,  Adjunct Research Associate, Geography patricia.solis@ttu.edu

11 Holden Hall

(469) 200-1276

Sweet, DustinAssociate Professor
Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
dustin.sweet@ttu.edu

318 Science Bdlg

(806) 834-8390

Sylvester, Paul, Professor and Pevehouse Chair
Mineral Geochemistry, Geochronology of Sedimentary Systems
paul.sylvester@ttu.edu

205 Science Building

(806) 834-5091

Weiss, Chris, Professor
Atmospheric Science
chris.weiss@ttu.edu

1211 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-4712

Wang, YonggangAssociate Professor of Research
Atmospheric Sciences
yonggang.wang@ttu.edu

1113 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-2721

Yoshinobu, Aaron S., Professor
Structural Geology and Tectonics
aaron.yoshinobu@ttu.edu

231 Science Building

(806) 834-7715


Instructors

Name / Title Email Office / Phone
William Asquith, Research Hydrogeologist & Adjunct Scientist Hydrogeology. wasquith@usgs.gov

213 Science Building
(806) 742-3129

Barbato, LuciaInstructor
Geographic Information Science and Technology
lucia.barbato@ttu.edu

118 Exp Sciences Bldg


(806) 834-8999

Griffith, Cameron, Instructor
Geographic Information Science and Technology
cameron.griffith@ttu.edu

204 Holden Hall

(806) 834-3737

Jones, Linda Lea, Instructor
Geography
linda.jones@ttu.edu

213 Holden Hall

(806) 834-8197

Weaver, Justin, Instructor
Atmospheric Science
justin.e.weaver@ttu.edu

1203 Media & Comm Bldg

(806) 834-4610


Research Scientists

Name / Title Email Office /  Phone
Barnes, Melanie, Research Scientist
Igneous Petrology & Geochemistry, Laser-Ablation ICP Mass Spectrometry
melanie.barnes@ttu.edu

217 Science Building

(806) 928-1098

Zhao, BoResearch Scientist
Scanning Electron Microscopy
bo.zhao@ttu.edu

112 Exp Sciences Bldg

(806) 384-0345

Post Doctoral Research Associates

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

Xiaoqiang Li

Postdoctoral Research Associate 

 

 Xiaoqiang.Li@ttu.edu

 209 Science Building

(806)

834-1244

Adjunct Scientists

Name / Title Email Office / Phone
William Asquith, Research Hydrogeologist & Adjunct Scientist Hydrogeology. wasquith@usgs.gov 213 Science Building
(806) 742-3129
David Bish, Haydn Murray Chair of Applied Clay Minerology, Indiana University, Minerology bish@indian.edu (812) 855-2039
Peter Holterhoff, Senior Geologic Advisor, Hess Corporation.
Carbonate Petrology, Sedimentology, Sequence Stratigraphy
peter.holterhoff@ttu.edu (713) 609-5000
Kenneth S. Johnson, Assistant Professor, Geology & Geochemistry, University of Houston. Igneous Petrology johnsonk@uhd.edu (713) 222-5375
Gregory P. McGovern, Instructor. West Texas A&M University
Organometallic Synthesis, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance
gmcgovern@wtamu.edu (806) 651-8043
Nathan McSloy, Adjunct Scientist. U.S. Geological Survey
Hydrology
njmcsloy@usgs.gov (806) 742-3129
Victor Polyak, Senior Research Scientist, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico. Speleology polyak@unm.edu (505) 277-4444
Veniamin B. Polyakov, Leading Scientist, Insitute of Experimental Minerology RAS, Russia. Geochemistry polyakov@iem.ac.ru  
Erik Rasmussen, Rasmussen Systems LLC
Severe Storm Analysis
rasm1@rasmsys.com (806) 834-6870
John Stout, Physical Scientist, USDA Wind Erosion & Water Conservation Research Unit. Aeolian Geomorphology John.Stout@ars.usda.gov (806) 723-5239