Texas Tech University

Hispanic/Latinx Heritage Month: Melissa Rosales

Ashley Brister

September 3, 2021

Melissa Rosales

Hear from our students in the College of Human Sciences on why their Hispanic/Latinx heritage is an important part of their Texas Tech experience.

What is your major?

My major is Apparel Design & Manufacturing with a minor in Advertising. 

When do you graduate?

I graduate in August 2022. 

What brought you to the College of Human Sciences and Texas Tech?

I've dreamt of studying fashion design since I was 8 years old. Growing up in a small town in Mexico made it hard to start a career in fashion since there weren't any opportunities, so I decided to take advantage of my dual citizenship and researched the best fashion design programs in Texas since it is closest to home. After doing my research, I found out Texas Tech had one of the best fashion programs in the southwest, so I automatically decided to apply. 

Does your heritage allow you to bring a different perspective to your classes, campus activities, and academic work?

I think it definitely does. Since my family is from Mexico and I lived there half of my life, I think I've been able to provide different views or opinions on several occasions. My heritage has taught me to always take care of people, especially the ones closest to me, so being kind and caring to everyone I get to know is a priority. I also have a passion for helping others, and I've found that during my time in the program, I've been able to help my friends and classmates in our design classes. 

What does Hispanic Heritage Month mean to you?

It is a time to commemorate the people that I admire and that have fought for human rights. It's about feeling proud of my roots and honoring them. It's about celebrating my favorite traditions to feel close to home. 

What hands-on learning experiences are built into your degree? Can you tell us about those?

Oh, there is a lot of hands-on involvement in my degree, that's why I love it so much. I have learned so much from the program; from physical and digital pattern making, sewing construction, draping, to fashion illustration (both digital and physical). I've also taken several art classes that have provided me a better understanding of art and design principles/foundations. I've enjoyed the process in all classes and it's beautiful to look back and see how much I've grown as a designer since I was a freshman. If I could pick a favorite hands-on class, it would definitely be draping and figure drawing. I think these two classes made me understand how the human body works both in 2D and 3D. Draping made me realize the creative potential that I have as a designer. Figure drawing taught me that repetition makes the master, and it also taught me patience. 

What are your career goals?

My near career goals are to get an internship in New York City for a label I personally admire and eventually, go to grad school there.