Texas Tech University

School of Financial Planning

Gustafson Distinguished Leadership Award — Harold Evensky & Deena Katz 

John HopkinsMr. Evensky, CFP® is the Chairman of Evensky & Katz/Foldes Financial and a past Professor of Practice at the Texas Tech University School of Financial Planning Department. Prior to forming his own company, he served as a Vice President of Investments with major investment banking firms. Mr. Evensky received his Bachelor's and Master's degrees in engineering and business from Cornell University. He is the past Chair of the International CFP® Council, the CFP® Board of Governors, Board of Examiners, and Board of Appeals, and the TIAA-CREF Institute Advisory Board. He has served on the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Financial Planning and the Journal of Retirement, and as the Research Columnist for the Journal of Financial Planning. He has also served on the National Board of the IAFP and the Charles Schwab Institutional Advisory Board and Council.

He is the recipient of the Financial Planning Association's 2018 P. Kemp Fain Jr. award, the Institute for the Fiduciary Standard's 2018 Frankel Fiduciary Prize, IMCA's J. Richard Joyner Wealth Management Impact Award (2017), the Insider Forum Leadership Award (2014), the Charles Schwab Trailblazer IMPACT Award (2013), the Financial Planning Association "Heart of Financial Planning" Award (2013), and the Dow Jones Investment Advisor Portfolio Management Award for Lifetime Achievement (1999). In 2015, he was listed in Investment Advisor's IA35, "thought leaders who have stood out over the past 35 years and will influence financial services for decades to come." In 2013, he was listed as one of the profession's 15 Transformational Advisors by Investment News. In 2010, he was included in Investment Advisor magazine's "Thirty for Thirty" –Investment Advisor's most influential in building the profession over the last 30 years.

Mr. Evensky is a member of the FPA and an associate member of the AICPA, the ABA and the CFA Institute. He is also an internationally-recognized speaker on investment and financial planning issues. In addition, he has written for and is quoted frequently in the national press, and is the author of Wealth Management(McGraw Hill), co-author of The New Wealth Management, published in conjunction with the CFA Institute by Wiley & Sons, and co-editor of The Investment Think Tank, Theory, Strategy, and Practice for Advisers and Retirement Income Redesigned — Master Plans for Distribution (Bloomberg) and Hello Harold (Amazon eBook).

Deena Katz has been called upon by global financial services organizations to speak at international financial forums held in various locations. In the past five years she has spoken in, Canada, Ireland, and South Africa, as well as many United States conferences. She has written seven books on financial planning and practice management topics, and has been a contributing writer for Financial Advisor, and Financial Planning magazines.

Mrs. Katz is the 2016 recipient of the Alexandra Armstrong Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2015, Ms. Katz was named one of the "35 for 35" by Investment Advisor, honoring leaders who have influenced the financial services industry for the past 35 years. In 2014, she received the "Iconoclast Award" given by Bob Veres' Insider's Forum. Also in 2015, she received the "Women to Watch" Award from Investment News. In 2018, Katz received the Insider's Forum Leadership Award.

She received her Bachelor's and Doctorate of Humane Letters from Adrian College, where she was the recipient of the Young Alumni Achievement Award. She spent 13 wonderful years as a Professor in the PFP Program at Texas Tech University and retired in 2018.