Texas Tech University

About Texas Tech

sealWhen you choose to come to Texas Tech University, you will enroll in a Tier One research university. Texas Tech University reached Tier One status with its listing among the nation's top doctoral universities in the 2016 Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. Texas Tech University is one of 115 universities – and one of 81 public institutions in the nation – listed in the Highest Research Activity category.

Texas Tech University is a growing, dynamic place to work, study, and conduct research. The university is experiencing extraordinary student growth. The fall 2016 enrollment of 36,551 students set an eighth consecutive record.

In addition to engineering, agriculture, and the sciences, Texas Tech University has top flight programs in the humanities, social sciences, and the visual and performing arts, offering you an extensive range of courses to supplement the Master of Arts in Heritage and Museum Sciences.

National Recognition

Texas Tech University was the one of first two Texas universities to meet the legislatively set criteria to receive National Research University status. With the designation comes millions of dollars in state funding to enhance the research mission of the university.

will and adminThe university also received national recognition in 2014 when it earned the designation of Innovation and Economic Prosperity University from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities. The designation recognizes the university's engagement in an array of economic development efforts.

Hispanic Serving Institution is a federal designation through the Department of Education. In 2017, Texas Tech University achieved Hispanic Serving Institution enrollment status, with a full-time undergraduate enrollment of 27.8%. As of April 2018, the university achieved full Hispanic Serving Institution status, opening the way for additional federal grant funds for research and educational opportunities across the campus.

Texas Tech University System

Texas Tech University is the flagship of the Texas Tech University System, founded in 1996. The system is made up of four universities:
• Texas Tech University
• Angelo State University in San Angelo, Texas
• Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, based in Lubbock with campuses in Abilene, Amarillo, Dallas, and the Permian Basin
• Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center – El Paso

More about Texas Tech

Graduate School
Texas Tech Office of the President

Texas Tech Office of the Provost
Texas Tech Office of the Vice President for Research
Texas Tech International Affairs
Texas Tech Athletics