Texas Tech University

2015-2016 Official Academic Calendar

Texas Tech University reserves the right to make changes to the calendar that are in the best interest of faculty, students, and academic programs.



Fall Intersession

August 10 – 23

Fall 2015 semester

August 16, Sunday

August 17, Monday

  • 95% payment of mandatory tuition and fees or enrollment in a payment plan due for fall. Registrations after this date require immediate payment or enrollment in a payment plan.

August 19, Wednesday

August 21, Friday

August 24, Monday

  • Classes begin.

August 27, Thursday

  • Last day for student-initiated addition of a course on MyTech. Course may be added until September 9 with advisor permission.

September 7, Monday

September 9, Wednesday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech without academic penalty (drop does not count against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to drop a course and have course charges removed. Students who drop to 0 hours are considered to be a withdrawal. Financial penalties apply for withdrawals after August 21.

September 10, Thursday

  • Student-initiated drop made on or after this date counts against drop limit. All drops are the responsibility of the student.

September 14, Monday

  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to file with the Graduate School a statement of intention to graduate.

September 21, Monday

September 25, Friday

  • Last day for doctoral students to submit the Defense Notification form.

October 16, Friday

  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to defend theses/dissertations.
  • Last day for master's non-thesis comprehensive examinations.

October 19, Monday

  • 5 p.m., Mid-semester grades due via Raiderlink.
  • Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the bookstore.

October 26, Monday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech with academic penalty (counts against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to declare pass/fail intentions.

October 30, Friday

  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the ETD website the final PDF of thesis/dissertation.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit the Oral Defense and Thesis-Dissertation Approval Form.
  • Last day for M.M. and D.M.A. candidates to post the PDFs of recital programs to the ETD website and submit recordings of recitals to the Graduate School.

November 5, Thursday

  • 3 p.m., First day of spring 2016 semester and summer 2016 term advance registration for currently enrolled students (continues through November 23).

November 16, Monday

  • Last day to remove grades of I, PR, or CR in the Graduate School. This does not apply to the PR/CR received on a previous thesis or dissertation enrollment.
  • Official reports due to Graduate School on Interdisciplinary Portfolio for the master's degree (non-thesis students).
  • Official reports due to Graduate School on results of final comprehensive examinations.
  • Last day to inform the Graduate School of plans to graduate in absentia.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay thesis-dissertation fee posted to Banner account.

November 23, Monday

  • Last day of advance registration for spring and summer 2016.

November 24, Tuesday

  • Open registration for spring and summer 2016 begins.
  • Last day to transfer between colleges.
  • Last day to withdraw from the university. Although withdrawal can be processed until this date, all tuition and fees related to the registration are due in full and no refunds will be issued.

November 23 – December 2, Monday – Wednesday

  • Period of no examinations except for makeup exams or scheduled lab exams.

November 25 – 29, Wednesday – Sunday

  • Thanksgiving holiday. No meals available at any Hospitality Services location. University employees will not be on duty November 26-27.

November 25, Wednesday

  • Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR.

November 30, Monday

  • Classes resume.
  • Raiderlink available for grading (degree candidate grades due at noon December 10).

December 2, Wednesday

  • Last day of classes.

December 3, Thursday

  • Individual study day.
  • Late night breakfast available for residents living on campus.

December 4 – 9, Friday – Saturday / Monday – Wednesday

  • Final examinations.

December 9, Wednesday

  • Fall semester ends.

December 10, Thursday

December 11 – 12, Friday – Saturday

December 14, Monday

  • Noon, Final grades due via Raiderlink.

Back to Top

 

Winter Intersession

December 10 – 23, January 4 – 8

Spring Semester 2016

January 14, Thursday

  • 95% payment of mandatory tuition and fees or enrollment in a payment plan due for spring. Registrations after this date require immediate payment or enrollment in a payment plan.

January 17, Sunday

  • 10 a.m., Residence halls open for occupancy (housing.ttu.edu/movein).
  • Select dining locations open for service (www.depts.ttu.edu/hospitality).

January 19, Tuesday

  • Faculty on duty.

January 20, Wednesday

January 21, Thursday

  • Classes begin.
January 26, Tuesday
  • Last day for student-initiated addition of a course on MyTech. Course may be added until February 5 with advisor permission.

February 5, Friday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech without academic penalty (drop does not count against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to drop a course and have course charges removed. Students who drop to 0 hours are considered to be a withdrawal. Financial penalties apply for withdrawals after January 20.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to file with the Graduate School a statement of intention to graduate.

February 6, Saturday

  • Student-initiated drop made on or after this date counts against drop limit. All drops are the responsibility of the student.

February 17, Wednesday

February 24, Wednesday

  • Last day for doctoral students to submit Defense Notification form.
March 11, Friday

March 12 – 20, Saturday – Sunday

  • Spring vacation. Student holiday only; university employees on duty except for holiday on Friday, March 18.

March 21, Monday

March 23, Wednesday

  • 5 p.m., Mid-semester grades due via Raiderlink.
  • Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the bookstore.

March 28, Monday

  • No classes. University employees on duty.
  • Select dining locations open for service.

March 31, Thursday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech with academic penalty (counts against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to declare pass/fail intentions.

April 1, Friday

  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to defend theses/dissertations.
  • Last day for master's non-thesis comprehensive examinations.

April 7, Thursday

  • 3 p.m., First day for fall 2016 advance registration for currently enrolled students (continues through April 25).

April 8, Friday

  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final PDF of thesis/dissertation.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit the Oral Defense and Thesis-Dissertation Approval Form.

April 15, Friday

  • Last day to remove grades of I, PR, or CR in the Graduate School. This does not apply to the PR/CR received on a previous thesis or dissertation enrollment.
April 25, Monday
  • Last day of advance registration for fall 2016.

April 26, Tuesday

  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay thesis-dissertation fee posted to Banner account.
  • Last day for M.M. and D.M.A. candidates to post the PDFs of recital programs to the ETD web site and submit recordings of recitals to the Graduate School
  • Official reports due to Graduate School on Interdisciplinary Portfolio for the master's degree (non-thesis students).
  • Official reports due to Graduate School on results of final comprehensive exams.
  • Last day to inform the Graduate School of plans to graduate in absentia.
  • Open registration for fall 2016 begins.
  • Last day to transfer between colleges.

May 4 – 10, Wednesday – Tuesday

  • Period of no examinations except for makeup exams or scheduled lab exams.

May 4, Wednesday

  • Last day to withdraw from the university. Although withdrawal can be processed until this date, all tuition and fees related to the registration are due in full and no refunds will be issued.

May 6, Friday

  • Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR.

May 9, Monday

  • Raiderlink available for grading (degree candidate grades due at noon May 18).

May 10, Tuesday

  • Last day of classes.

May 11, Wednesday

  • Individual study day.
  • Late night breakfast available for residents living on campus.

May 12 – 17, Thursday – Saturday / Monday – Tuesday

  • Final examinations.

May 17, Tuesday

  • Spring semester ends.

May 18, Wednesday

  • Last day for most dining locations (www.depts.ttu.edu/hospitality).
  • 10 a.m., residence halls close. Degree candidates may occupy residence hall rooms until 10 a.m. Saturday, May 21 (housing.ttu.edu/moveout).
  • Noon, grades due for graduating students via Raiderlink.

May 20 – 21, Friday – Saturday

  • Degree candidates may occupy residence hall rooms until 10 a.m. Saturday, May 21.

May 23, Monday

  • Noon, Final grades due via Raiderlink.

Back to Top

 

May Intersession

May 18 – June 2

Summer 2016
First Summer Term

May 31, Tuesday

  • 95% payment of mandatory tuition and fees or enrollment in a payment plan due for Summer I. Registrations after this date require immediate payment or enrollment in a payment plan.

June 5, Sunday

  • 10 a.m., Residence halls open for occupancy.

June 6, Monday

June 7, Tuesday

  • Classes begin.

June 8, Wednesday

  • Last day for student-initiated addition of a course on MyTech. Course may be added until June 10 with advisor permission.
  • Last day to withdraw from the university for Summer I (not Full Summer) and receive partial financial credit. For more information visit Student Business Services.

June 10, Friday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech without academic penalty (drop does not count against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to drop a course and have course charges removed. Students who drop to 0 hours are considered to be a withdrawal. Financial penalties apply for withdrawals after June 1.
  • Last day for doctoral students to file Defense Notification form.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to file with the Graduate School a statement of intention to graduate.

June 11, Saturday

  • Student-initiated drop made on or after this date counts against drop limit. All drops are the responsibility of the student.
June 13, Monday
  • Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the bookstore.

June 14, Tuesday

  • Last day to withdraw from the university for Full Summer and receive partial financial credit. For more information visit Student Business Services.

June 27, Monday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech with academic penalty (counts against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to transfer between colleges.
  • Last day to declare pass/fail intentions.
  • Last day for master's non-thesis comprehensive examination.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to defend theses/dissertations.

July 4, Monday

  • University holiday.

July 5, Tuesday

  • Last day to withdraw from the university. Although withdrawal can be processed until this date, all tuition and fees related to the registration are due in full and no refunds will be issued.
  • Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR.

July 6, Wednesday

  • Raiderlink available for grading.

July 7, Thursday

  • Last day of classes.

July 8 – 9, Friday – Saturday

  • Final examinations.

July 9, Saturday

  • First summer term ends.

July 10, Sunday

  • Students without room reservations for the second term must vacate residence hall rooms by 10 a.m.
  • Minimal dining locations open (www.depts.ttu.edu/hospitality).

July 11, Monday

  • Noon, Final grades due via Raiderlink.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the ETD website the final PDF of thesis/dissertation.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit the Oral Defense and Thesis-Dissertation Approval Form.

Second Summer Term

July 5, Tuesday

  • 95% payment of mandatory tuition and fees or enrollment in a payment plan due for Summer II. Registrations after this date require immediate payment or enrollment in a payment plan.

July 10, Sunday

  • 10 a.m., Residence halls open for Summer II occupancy.

July 11, Monday

July 12, Tuesday

  • Classes begin.

July 13, Wednesday

  • Last day for student-initiated addition of a course on MyTech. Course may be added until July 15 with advisor permission.
  • Last day to withdraw from the university for Summer II and receive partial financial credit. For more information visit Student Business Services.

July 15, Friday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech without academic penalty (drop does not count against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to drop a course and have course charges removed. Students who drop to 0 hours are considered to be a withdrawal. Financial penalties apply for withdrawals after July 6.
  • Official reports due to Graduate School on Interdisciplinary Portfolio for the master's degree (non-thesis students).
  • Official reports due to Graduate School on results of final comprehensive exams.
  • Last day to remove grades of I, PR, or CR in the Graduate School. This does not apply to the PR/CR received on a previous thesis or dissertation enrollment.
  • Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay thesis-dissertation fee posted to Banner account.
  • Last day for M.M. and D.M.A. candidates to post the PDFs of recital programs to the ETD website and to submit recordings of recitals to the Graduate School.
  • Last day to inform the Graduate School of plans to graduate in absentia.

July 16, Saturday

  • Student-initiated drop made on or after this date counts against drop limit. All drops are the responsibility of the student.

August 1, Monday

  • Last day for student-initiated drop on MyTech with academic penalty (counts against drop limit). All drops are the responsibility of the student.
  • Last day to transfer between colleges.
  • Last day to declare pass/fail intentions..

August 8, Monday

  • Last day to withdraw from the university. Although withdrawal can be processed until this date, all tuition and fees related to the registration are due in full and no refunds will be issued.
  • Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR.

August 9, Tuesday

  • Raiderlink available for grading.

August 10, Wednesday

  • Last day of classes.

August 11 – 12, Thursday – Friday

  • Final examinations for second term.

August 12, Friday

  • Second summer term ends.

August 13, Saturday

August 15, Monday

  • Noon, Final grades due via Raiderlink.

Back to Top

Official Publications