

# The PHI BETA KAPPAJodery LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER

Love of learning is the guide of life.

# **CEREMONY OF INITIATION**

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW LANIER CENTER AUDITORIUM
THURSDAY, APRIL 20, 2023

# PROGRAM OVERVIEW

#### PROCESSION & AFFIRMATION WELCOME

#### Dr. William Tortorelli

President, Lambda of Texas Chapter, Phi Beta Kappa

#### REMARKS

## Dr. Jorge Iber

Assistant Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Texas Tech University

#### KEYNOTE ADDRESS

### **Dr. Donald Lavigne**

Associate Professor, Department of Classical and Modern Languages and Literatures, Texas Tech University

#### **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

Dr. William Tortorelli

## CEREMONY OF INITIATION

The Presentation **Dr. Caroline Bishop** 

The History **Dr. Caroline Bishop** 

The Promise **Dr. William Tortorelli** 

The Calling of Names Dr. David Roach

The Declaration **Dr. William Tortorelli** 

# CONCLUDING REMARKS & RECESSION

Dr. William Tortorelli

Please join us for a reception following the ceremony.



## **2023 MEMBERS IN COURSE**

LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA

Jacob Aickareth Zoe L. Andrews Mealat Alemsegad Assefa Hannah D. Barber Bryce Alden Barnes Esha Basoor Rachel Behnke Landry Cole Bennett Annalise Buck Kaylin Cao Avery Christine Castillo Maura Chapman Jordan Chenault Matthew Clemens Megan Cooley Sydnee Cooper Skylar Coursey Renee Dalton Aubrianna Doe Catalina Esquivel Cameron Golden Joel Heath Hampton Kayla Haygood Julianna Henderson Alana Paulina Hurst-Lopez Andrew Ibrahim

Caitlin Kinder Jordyn Knysz Jacqueline Koch Chiamaka Lebechi Grace Laura Marx Miriam Mechref **Peyton Millard** Haley Rhea Mimms Malcom Montgomery Cynthia Palacios Michael Parker Anya Lizbeth Pazhoor Sydney Phelan Caroline Phelps Caitlin Schirripa Anna Lee Schmieding Madeleine SenGupta Kaylee Sexton Hope Elizabeth Sharp Alea Stevenson Jessica Thompson Hazel Grace Walker Hanna Weiser Chloe Elisa White Kobe B. Young

The 2022 MEMBERS IN COURSE of the LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA wish to honor the following Texas Tech University faculty members, instructors, and mentors, whose teaching and example they have found exceptionally inspiring:

Mari Isa	Joseph Hodes	Terah Maher
Maggie Durham	Christopher Witmore	Suzanne LaLonde
Leslie C. Sotomayor	Dominick Casadonte	Carol Lindquist
Douglas Westfall	Abigail Swingen	Julia Milan-Gomez
Bonnie Anne Rudd	Julie Willett	Chad Cain
Sara Guengerich	Martin Binks	Yanlin Wang
Sean Mitchell	Kerry Chavez	George Brock Williams
Michael Mayer	Joshua Kulseth	Chris Rock
Tamra Walter	Breanna Harris	Mitzi Ziegner
Vivian Ferrillo	Kimberly Thornton	Kurt Caswell
Justin Hart	William Wenthe	Michael Jordan
Patrica Maloney	William Tortorelli	



Members of the LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA extend thanks to current and previous regents, chancellors, presidents, provosts, deans, chairs, and faculty and staff colleagues for their support in establishing and maintaining the chapter, which was installed at Texas Tech in 2007. The Lambda of Texas Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa extends thanks to the School of Law for allowing the ceremony to be held in the Lanier Center.

Lifetime Phi Beta Kappa membership dues and membership certificates are being provided for 2023 inductees by Texas Tech University. Engraved Phi Beta Kappa keys are being provided for 2022 inductees through the generosity of the Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of West Texas and Eastern New Mexico.