Texas Tech University

Marketing Faculty Honored at Society for Marketing Advances Conference

Trevor Bell

November 11, 2013

On October 30th - November 2nd, 2013, four marketing faculty members attended the 2013 Society for Marketing Advances (SMA) conference in Hilton Head, South Carolina.

L-R: Stephanie Thomas, Bob McDonald, Kyung Ah Byun

The Society for Marketing Advances (SMA), a premier marketing association, hosts an annual conference that brings together marketing educators and professionals from throughout the United States and abroad. The Society evolved from the regional Southern Marketing Association to an international association that includes members from more than 34 countries.

Rawls College of Business marketing faculty received numerous accolades at this year's conference.

(1) Stephanie Thomas, assistant professor of practice, won the Cengage Pride/Ferrell Innovations in Teaching Competition.

(2) Kyung Ah Byun, marketing doctoral student, won the Jean Charles Chabat Best Retail Dissertation Award.

(3) Bob McDonald, associate professor of marketing and area coordinator, was named the Reviewer of the Year by the Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, and he served as Chair of the SMA Doctoral Dissertation Proposal Competition.

(4) Shelby Hunt, Jerry S. Rawls and P. W. Horn Professor of Marketing (not pictured), was a Faculty Member at the SMA Doctoral Consortium.

This supports the efforts outlined in the Rawls College of Business Strategic Plan. Learn more about the LEADER 2020 Strategic Plan and follow our progress on Twitter at #RawlsLeads.

Written By: Kacie Phillips