Texas Tech University

Two Rawls College Professors Recognized at SMA Meeting

Kaitlin York

SMA Meeting


Bill Gardner, Jerry S. Rawls Chair in Leadership, was awarded the Jerry Hunt Sustained Outstanding Service Award (SOSA) and Tyge Payne, Georgie G. Snyder Professor of Management, was inducted as an SMA fellow at the annual Southern Management Association (SMA) meeting on Oct. 24 to 29 in St. Pete Beach, Fl.

SMA is a domestic affiliate of the Academy of Management and its primary mission is to advance the research, teaching, learning and practice of management.

The Jerry Hunt SOSA is named after James (Jerry) G. Hunt, a former Paul Whitfield Horn Professor in the Area of Management and the founding director of the Institute for Leadership Research at the Rawls College. In keeping with his legacy, the award is presented to an individual who has made important, sustained and current contributions to SMA.

"I am honored to receive the 2017 Jerry Hunt SOSA. This recognition is especially meaningful to me because it is named after Jerry Hunt, who was a tireless ambassador for Texas Tech, and the first SOSA recipient in recognition of his outstanding service to SMA. Jerry provided many, many years of selfless service to Tech and SMA, and I am very proud to follow in his footsteps," said Gardner.

Gardner is the current director of the Institute for Leadership Research and is also very active in the SMA, serving as president from 2006 to 2007.

"Bill Gardner is truly deserving of the Jerry Hunt SOSA. Bill has served SMA for more than three decades, epitomizing the term servant-leadership through his care for others and desire to build a better scholarly community," said Payne.

Payne was inducted as an SMA fellow for his achievements as a member, significant SMA service and more than 12 years of SMA membership and participation.

"Being elected into the Fellows of the SMA is one of the greatest honors of my life. It is particularly meaningful for two reasons. First, I deem it a great privilege to be included among such great scholars, who have greatly influenced my work and career for decades. Second, I am proud that I can continue the strong tradition that has been set forth by Texas Tech's management scholars," said Payne.

Payne is among many other Rawls College faculty that have been inducted as fellows, including late Jerry Hunt, Professor Emeritus John Blair, Dean Margaret Williams and Bill Gardner.

"Tyge Payne has provided exceptional service to SMA for many years and is very deserving of his induction as an SMA fellow," said Gardner.