Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Faculty Earn National and International Recognition


Patricia DeLucia, professor in the Department of Psychological Sciences and associate vice president for research for faculty affairs, has been elected as a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science (APS). Fellow status is awarded to APS members who have made sustained outstanding contributions to the science of psychology in the areas of research, teaching, service and/or application.

David C. Weindorf, a professor and holder of the BL Allen Endowed Chair of Pedology in the Department of Plant and Soil Science, has been named a fellow by the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA). It is the highest honor the SSSA bestows.

David D. Perlmutter, dean of the College of Media & Communication, has been elected vice president of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication for 2017-18.

Eric Hequet, chair of the Department and Plant and Soil Science has been designated an honorary professor and international advisory board member for scientific research by the Industrial Crop Research Institute in China's Henan Academy of Agricultural Sciences.

Kent Wilkinson, professor and director of the Thomas Jay Harris Institute for Hispanic and International Communication, has been selected to serve on the research committee for the World Media Economics and Management Conference in Cape Town, South Africa. He is one of four U.S. scholars named to the research committee.

Michael Ballou, associate dean for research in the College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources received the Lallemand Forward Award for Scientific Excellence in Dairy Nutrition by the American Dairy Science Association.

Dean Nolen, head of acting and directing in the School of Theatre and Dance, and Ashley Meyer, a graduate student and part-time instructor in the school, were recognized as Educational Innovators by the Association for Theatre in Higher Education for their efforts in the classroom and on the stage.