Texas Tech University

2018 Celebration of Faculty Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

November 15, 2018 |  

The Office of the President, Office of Research & Innovation and Office of the Provost gathered to recognize and celebrate individual faculty and teams of faculty in all disciplines who have been recognized for research, scholarship, and/or creative activity at the national or international level during the preceding year.

The following Texas Tech faculty were honored at the ceremony Nov. 15.

Texas Tech Targeted External Faculty Awards

Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program

  • Antonio Ladeira, Classical and Modern Languages and Literatures
  • John Gilliam, Personal Financial Planning

National Science Foundation CAREER Award

  • Jeremy Marston, Chemical Engineering
  • Rui He, Mechanical Engineering
  • Zhe Wang, Human Development and Family Studies

Issued Patents

Small Molecule Analogs of E4ORF1 to control weight gain related to Diabetes

  • Nikhil Dhurandhar, Nutritional Sciences

Liquid oil production from shale gas condensate reservoirs

  • James Sheng, Petroleum Engineering

Method to Introduce Salmonella Into Ground Meat

  • Guy Loneragen with Katelyn Malin, Animal and Food Sciences

Portable Apparatus for Soil Chemical Characterization

  • David Weindorf, Plant and Soil Sciences

National/International Recognition

Professional Association Awards

The Architectural League 2018 Emerging Voices Series

  • Ersela Kripa, Architecture
  • Stephen Mueller, Architecture

2018 Helen & Howard Marraro Prize in Italian History from the American Historical Association

  • John Howe, History

Climate One: Stephen H. Schneider Award

  • Katharine Hayhoe, Political Science

S.Arch 2018 Best Completed Project Award - Residential Building

  • Ophelia Mantz, Architecture
  • Rafael Beneytez-Duran, Architecture

T2018 Distinguished Service Award, United States Chapter of the International Association for Landscape Ecology (US-IALE)

  • Nancy Mcintyre, Biological Sciences

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Fellow and 2017 Stephen J. Klaine Environmental Education Award

  • Ron Kendall Environmental Toxicology

Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai Professor WB Achwal Endowed Oration Award

  • Seshadri Ramkumar, Environmental Toxicology

Appointments, Fellowships, and Other Honors

Fulbright Specialist Award

  • Anita McChesney, Classical and Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Costica Bradatan, Honors College
  • David Weindorf, Plant and Soil Sciences


Baruch S. Blumberg Chair in Astrobiology, Library of Congress

  • Bruce Clarke, English

National Endowment for the Humanities Public Scholar Program Award

  • Costica Bradatan, Honors College

International Affairs Fellowship with the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)

  • David Lektzian, Political Science

U.S. Department of Agriculture Under Secretary for Food Safety

  • Mindy Brashears, Animal and Food Sciences

Texas State Historian

  • Monte Monroe, Libraries/Southwest Collection

Fellowship with the Textile Institute in the United Kingdom

  • Seshadri Ramkumar, Environmental Toxicology

Memorial Lecturer Award

  • Steve Presley, Environmental Toxicology

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM)

  • Tanja Karp, Electrical and Computer Engineering

National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipend

  • Zachary, Brittsan History


Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellow

  • Andreas Neuber, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Donald Lie, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin Faculty Fellow

  • Asheley Landrum, Advertising

Optical Society of America Fellow

  • Hongxing Jiang, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Jingyu Lin, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Fellow of SPIE (The International Society for Optics and Photonics)

  • Jingyu Lin, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Fellow

  • Ron Kendall, Environmental Toxicology



Office of Research & Innovation