Texas Tech University

Innovation Hub

Innovation Award

Applications deadline October 15th, 2019

Texas Tech University has partnered with Market Lubbock, Inc. to establish the Presidents' Innovation Award. The objectives of the grant from Market Lubbock include: 1) programs for students and entrepreneurs; 2) seed stage funding for startups; and 3) seed grants for startups to support equipment and rental expense at the Innovation Hub at Research Park (Hub).

A committee of TTUS faculty, Hub staff, and TTUS facility staff determine the top applicant startups that exemplify innovation and commercialization. Final decisions for awards are made by the TTU President and TTUHSC President.

The awardees of this prestigious Presidential grant will be announced September 2019. There are four awards by each President in the following categories:  

1- $25,000 award
1- $15,000 award
2- $5,000 awards

The lease contract for these awards will begin in January and run through the calendar year.

Eligibility: All TTUS students, faculty, and staff are eligible. All community members are eligible. Prior awardees of the PIA grant are ineligible to submit unless application is for a different startup company.

Startup/Applicant Process:

  1. Complete the Hub Lease Application and business plan.
  2. Applicant submits a 3-page business plan and budget requirements to the following link. Please    clearly specify which budget category you are applying for in the header of your application.
  3. Committee assesses applicant space requirements and business plan and nominates recommendations to TTU & TTUHSC Presidents.

Rubric for Award Selection

View the pdf of the rubric here.