Faculty Senate Committee Assignments 2022-2023

Business submitted from any of these committees to the Senate for action will be sent to the Agenda Committee and placed on the agenda of a subsequent meeting. Action on a question submitted to any of these committees can be taken only by the Senate at a regular meeting or a special called meeting.

Operating Procedures for these committees are: The committee shall develop its own operating procedures, subject to the approval of the Faculty Senate. Faculty members will serve on year terms corresponding with the terms of Faculty Senators and may be reappointed.

Committee members highlighted in red were added this year.

Committee on Committees

The President (of the Faculty Senate) shall appoint the members of a Committee on Committees each of whom shall be a senator from a different school or college. The Committee on Committees shall nominate, and the Senate shall appoint the members of each standing or ad hoc committee, at the first meeting of the Faculty Senate in September.

Committee on Committees Membership

CHAIR needs to be elected Andrew Jackson – ECE - 2025 Eric Allen – MUS - 2025 Alejandro Echeverry – AGSC - 2025 Michael Guillemette – PFP – 2024 James Sheng – PENG – 2023 Alexander Wiseman – EP&L – 2024

Academic Programs Committee

Charge: To evaluate and recommend to the Senate action involving academic programs. This will include but not be restricted to matters such as academic program additions and deletions, academic degree requirements, and academic standards.

Academic Programs Committee Membership: **CHAIR needs to be elected** Jake Syma – LIB – 2024 – **Convener** Allison Childress – NS – 2025 Jennifer Nish – ENG - 2025 Daehee Bak – POLS – 2024 Robert Ritchey – BA – 2023 Michael Serra – PSY – 2024 Marcelo Schmidt – VET – 2024

Budget Study Committee

Charge: To study and report to the Senate on matters related to the budget of the university. This committee is NOT charged with making recommendations relating directly to budget allocations during the time the budget is being formulated. It is instructed to initiate investigations and report to the Senate on any inconsistencies, misallocations, re-allocations, oversights, and other budgetary items which it believes will be of interest or concern to the faculty of the university, in order that the Senate may make timely recommendations to the administration regarding the budgeting process.

Budget Study Committee Membership:

CHAIR needs to be elected Matthew Barnes – NRM – 2025 Hugo Garcia-Gonzalez – EPLC – 2025 Asheley Landrum – ADV – 2025 Martina Klein – PSY – 2023 Richard Murphy – LAW – 2023 Bill Pasewark – ACCT – 2024

Faculty Status and Welfare Committee

Charge: To investigate and recommend to the Senate on matters relating to the status and welfare of the faculty, including but not restricted to salaries, fringe benefits, working conditions, teaching loads, standards for promotion, tenure, and merit pay, and evaluation of deans, departmental chairpersons, and other administrative personnel.

Faculty Status and Welfare Committee Membership:

Lewis Held – BIOL – 2025 – CHAIR Alan Barenberg – HIST – 2025 Sabrina Chi – ACCT – 2024 Brian Shannon – LAW – 2024 Roman Taraban – PSY – 2023 Jon McNaughtan – EP&L – 2024

Faculty Senate Campus Climate Committee

The mission of the Faculty Senate Campus Climate Committee is to study, and bring before the Senate, matters related to bias and discrimination based on gender, race, national origin, religion, age, disability, protected veteran status, genetic information, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation and preference, or other protected categories, classes, or characteristics. The Committee will also work to remove barriers to reporting of wider concerns ranging from bullying to unequal treatment while advancing inclusiveness in a respectful professional environment for *all* faculty.

Faculty Senate Campus Climate Committee Membership:

CHAIR needs to be elected Ian Barba – LIB – 2025 Catharine Franklin – HIST – 2025 Jessica Gottlieb – EPLC - 2025 Conrad Lyford – AAEC – 2023 Cody Arnall – ART – 2023 Miguel A. Levario – HIST – 2024

ADMINISTRATOR EVALUATION SURVEY COMMITTEE –rotating off

This committee is to oversee the conducting of the annual Administrator Evaluation Survey. The committee will evaluate the survey instrument, making minor changes as needed and recommending to the Senate addition or deletion of survey questions. The committee will work with Institutional Research and Information Management to ensure that the survey and the survey results are available at a time appropriate to the evaluation schedule for administrators. The ability to Poll Faculty.

Administrator Evaluation Survey Committee Membership:

CHAIR needs to be elected Seshadri Ramkumar – ENTX – 2025 Gad Perry – NRM – 2025 Nick Bowman – JEM – 2024 Ranadip Pal – ECE – 2024 *there must be a rotation

<u>Standing Study Committees A, B and C</u> are charged with receiving, studying, and recommending action by the Senate on questions referred to them by the Agenda Committee. Committees A, B and C shall consider business referred to them and shall study the question and submit such written reports, resolutions, or recommendations for action by the Senate as they deem appropriate.

Senate Study Committee A- (??)

<u>Membership:</u> Peter Fischer-MUS-2024 – CHAIR Timothy Linksvayer – BIOS – 2025 Vijay Hegde – NS – 2025 Amy Dye-Reeves – LIB – 2024 Richard Meek – MUS – 2024 Michael Faris – ENGL – 2023

Senate Study Committee B – (Funded Research)

Membership: CHAIR needs to be elected Jeffrey Harper (CA) – MKT - 2025 Roger Landes (CA) – MUS – 2025 Allison Whitney – ENGL – 2024 Joe Hodes – HC – 2024 Lourdes Juan – MATH – 2024 Sarah Wagner – VET – 2024

Senate Study Committee C- Ad Hoc Committee Membership: CHAIR needs to be elected Anna Ribeiro – PHIL – 2025 Mahyar Hadighi – ARCH – 2025 Carla Cash – MUS – 2025 Catherine Cortese – ENGL – 2025 Mark Webb – PHIL – 2025 Jesse Jou – TH&D – 2024-Sec

Nomination Committee – must be in last year

Charge: The Faculty Senate President will select three (3) members, in their last year of service, each from a different college or school of the university to serve as a committee for the purpose of nominating candidates for the Senate offices for the succeeding year. There shall be no less than two nominees for each position. Nominees' names will be presented to the Senate at its February meeting, at which time any nominations from the floor must be made. Elections will be held at the March meeting.

Nomination Committee Membership:

CHAIR needs to be elected Matthew McEniry – LIB - 2023 Sylvia Niehuis – HDFS – 2023 Louisa Hope-Weeks – CHEM – 2023