

# Meeting Minutes May 1, 2013

Call to Order: 2012-2013 Staff Senate President, Jeff Hays

4:05 p.m., Senate Room - SUB

Officers Present: Jeff Hays, President

Christine Self, President Elect Tamara Mancini, Secretary Micheal Gunn, Parliamentarian

## Guest Speaker(s):

Dr. Amy Murphy, Dean of Students/Director, Center for Campus Life

Dr. Murphy spoke to us about the Behavior Intervention Team, and what our role is in reporting and responding to students of concern. This team actually a central location to "recognize and respond" to student issues. Dr. Murphy explained the types (and different levels) of behavior that occurs when a student is referred to the BIT committee. She reminded us that it was important to document any out of the ordinary behavior, and that if we had any questions we could contact her or other members of the BIT committee. Dr. Murphy also provided a list of on-campus resources (offices) that are great in helping students with of this generation that do not have coping skills or problem solving skills.

Roll Call: 34 senators present for quorum (28).

We have 43 total Senators.

Minutes: There was a motion from Senator Gunn, with a  $2^{nd}$  from Senator Sammy, to approve the minutes as written.

Treasurer's Report: There was a motion from Senator David, with a 2<sup>nd</sup> from Senator Stacy to approve the Treasurer's report as written.

#### Announcements:

- 1. President Jeff thanked people for participating in Arbor Day, and working to sell Strive for Honor t-shirts
- 2. Mentor Tech banquet table is full thanks for volunteering to attend.
- 3. Tech Advantage is May 22<sup>nd</sup> from 3-5 pm at the Frazier Alumni Center.



Committee Reports:

## **Staff Senate Committees:**

*Constitution & By-laws* – nothing new to report

*Elections/Nominations* – There have been 27 nominations so far, and we will hold online elections the last week in May.

*Grievance* – nothing new to report

*Issues* – nothing new to report

*Public Relations & Communication* – Stacy Elliot reminded everyone about Tech Advantage, and made sure to underscore how amazing the 70+ door prizes are going to be!

*Scholarship* – Spring Scholarship winners have been announced, and posted to our website. Winners for spring are: Alfonso Almeida, Irene Arellano, Sarah Cody, Brittanie Lassiter, Kristina Lusk, Lori Rodriguez, Shannon Samson, Kenneth R. Shatley, Jo L. Stark, and Melissa Wofford. The summer scholarship is posted if everyone would share with fellow staff members.

*Technology* – nothing new to report

## **Community Committees:**

*Diversity & Equity Advisory Council* – Dr. Munoz spoke to the council about the changing demographics of Texas.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 pm.