# **Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes August 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2019**

#### **Members Present:**

Bob McDonald, Comfort Pratt, Patrick Hughes, Courtney Meyers, Upe Flueckiger, Ali Nejat, Mitzi Lauderdale, Ali Duffy, Brie Sherwin, Suzanne Tapp

#### **Members Not Present:**

Angela Lumpkin, Mark Webb

#### Welcome:

Bob McDonald welcomed the council members and gifted each person a Teaching Academy portfolio. He introduced the three new council members:

- -Courtney Meyers, representing the College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources
- -Patrick Hughes, representing the College of Media & Communications
- -Ali Duffy, representing the J.T. & Margaret Talkington College of Visual & Performing Arts Each council member introduced themselves.

## Teaching Academy Vision 2019-2020

As the new chair, Bob shared that his vision for the Teaching Academy is rooted in service. He shared that he has been involved in service learning since 2003 and that as members of the Teaching Academy, faculty should act in service to other faculty and students on campus. He recognized the TLPDC as a partner in service and encouraged the members to reach out to faculty in their colleges and departments.

Comfort Pratt mentioned that new faculty in the College of Education have already asked about peer mentoring.

### **Updates:**

Provost Council

Bob gave updates from the recent Provost Council meeting:

- -Kimberly Gramm shared about projects at the Innovation Hub and their involvement with the First Friday Art Trail.
- -Joe Heppert spoke about excess in hiring.
- -There is a conflict of interest with NIH grants. Anyone with a grant will need to notify NIH as to which countries they are working with.
- -There is a change in the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award deadline. The new deadline for nominations is October 1<sup>st</sup> and the committee will need to meet before October 21<sup>st</sup> to make their recommendation to the Provost's Office.
- -The President's Teaching and Research Fellowships are now allowing up to nine fellows.
- -There is a credentials change with the SACSCOC affirmation process. Patrick Hughes shared that there will be a new document required for new hires. This new experience record will allow for exceptions when an applicant has extensive experience in a field without a degree.

## Teaching Academy New Member Induction Ceremony

The ceremony will take place on Wednesday, September 18<sup>th</sup> at the TLPDC. Bob asked the council to wear their Teaching Academy blazers. He also reminded the council that the fall business meeting will take place immediately after.

## John M. Burns Conference

Bryan Dewsbury will be the speaker this year and the conference will be held on Monday, October 21<sup>st</sup> at the TLPDC. There will be a morning session and afternoon session and Dr. Dewsbury's keynote will take a sociological approach to teaching. The recipients of the Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarships will be giving poster presentations during the lunch break.

## Commencement Representation

Bob let the council know that he will be sending out a call for Teaching Academy representation for the December, May, and August commencement ceremonies.

## *Upcoming Dates*

Bob shared that the deadline for the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award nominations is October 1<sup>st</sup> and the deadline for the Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarship is November 15<sup>th</sup>.

#### **Discussion:**

Courtney Meyers shared that she is the new Faculty Fellow this year at the TLPDC. Her role there will be to promote mentor relationships with faculty on campus. She will also help to facilitate the TeMPO program. She is looking forward to serving and using this role to promote the vision of the Teaching Academy.

Brie Sherwin shared about the film series at the Alamo facilitated by the Law School. There will be four films shown throughout this semester that deal with law, followed by a panel of faculty and community members. She asked the council to encourage attendance and also let them know they are looking for more faculty members to volunteer to create interdisciplinary panels. Suzanne Tapp mentioned that at new faculty orientation this year, the faculty panel spoke highly about the various film series hosted by the Alamo, saying it was a great way to connect with faculty and the Lubbock community.

Suzanne shared information about a new session at the TLPDC on bias. This workshop is a collaboration with the Provost's Office and the Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and is currently optional for faculty. Erika Brooks-Hurst has worked to gather information to create this presentation and will lead seven sessions this semester. It was vetted in August through past participants of the Institute for Inclusive Excellence and presented to all new faculty at new faculty orientation. Suzanne asked the council to promote this session since the content is highly important. The TLPDC also hopes to see a high volume of faculty in attendance in order to keep

it optional. This is only an introduction to bias training, and will serve as a start to more in-depth sessions and conversations.

Bob shared that the College of Business has recommended this training for all faculty and that the dean would like to host a session.

Suzanne stated that Erika is able to come to a department or college to lead a session in addition to the ones scheduled at the TLPDC.

Comfort asked if the SGA could be involved and if the TLPDC needed any sponsors for this session.

Suzanne said that the Teaching Academy could sponsor a session for members.

Courtney mention that hiring committees are often required to have a similar training.

Mitzi Lauderdale asked if there would be another order of the Teaching Academy blazers. Comfort said she has a few more requests. Bob said he would send out a note to the members about placing another order this year.

# Adjourn:

Upe Flueckiger motioned to adjourn the meeting, Courtney seconded.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Molly Jacobs.