# **Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes September 27, 2019**

#### **Members Present:**

Bob McDonald, Comfort Pratt, Patrick Hughes, Upe Flueckiger, Ali Nejat, Suzanne Tapp

## **Members Not Present:**

Angela Lumpkin, Mark Webb, Courtney Meyers, Mitzi Lauderdale, Ali Duffy, Brie Sherwin,

## Welcome:

Bob McDonald welcomed the council members and discussed whether there was quorum due to low attendance. It was decided that there was not a quorum at the meeting, so there could be discussion, but no votes could be taken.

#### Discussion

TA Membership Application Due Date and Nomination Letter Due Date: Lou Densmore, Chair, Membership Committee, was supposed to attend the meeting; however, he had an unforeseen conflict arise, so Bob explained several of the items that Lou wanted the Executive Council to consider:

- In regards to the process of asking for support letters from nominators and recommenders, the suggestion was made that 10 additional days after the applicant's deadline be allowed for nomination letters from Teaching Academy members. For example, if the applications are due on March 25, 2020, then the support letters would be due on April 3, 2020.
- Bob will ask Lou to come to the Executive Council meeting on October 23, 2019 for further discussion.

Teaching Academy John M. Burns Conference Updates (October 21, 2019, Keynote speaker: Dr. Bryan Dewsbury)

- Bob reminded everyone of the date and asked that they share this information with their departments and colleges.
- Bob asked for volunteers to have dinner and breakfast with Dr. Dewsbury. Kerri will send out meeting requests for both times, and members should feel free to accept or decline as their schedules allow.
- Please wear your Teaching Academy branded attire on the day of the Burns Conference, and come early to help greet attendees.

# Teaching Academy Voting Protocol

- Bob noted that there is an issue within the Teaching Academy Voting Protocol. Although the issue of reviewing/scoring all applicants is addressed, the protocol does not address how committee members should vote/recuse themselves when they have personally written a letter of recommendation for a particular candidate.
- Suzanne asked if this question was in regards to all awards or specifically in regard to the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award. It was agreed that it was specific to the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award.

- Comfort indicated that there was a potential problem that if members were allowed to recuse themselves from certain applicants, then eventually it could limit the number of reviewers for candidates.
- The Council suggested adding this line to the voting protocol: "Teaching Academy Executive Committee members may not write letters of support for the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award because committee members serve as reviewers for this award."
- Since quorum was not met, Bob suggested that this be discussed further and voted upon at the October 23, 2019 meeting.

# **Updates:**

Provost Council

Bob gave updates from the recent Provost Council meeting:

- Genevieve Durham DeCesaro discussed the new Director of Publications, changes to New Faculty Orientation, the implementation of an RSVP system for graduation for faculty similar to the student RSVP system, and the creation of a department chair/director handbook.
- Rob Stewart discussed the changes to the use of HEF funds along with the new application and allocation process for those funds. He also discussed changes to the faculty offer letters in the hiring process; there is a new template that includes the University requirements for new faculty.
- Michael Galyean discussed progress on the new TTU Veterinary School and gave information about upcoming Town Hall meetings. Student enrollment has increased to 38,803. SACS accreditation requirements have changed slightly to track completion rates based diversity indicators, and the plan articulated to track these indicators in the future.

## Adjourn:

Bob McDonald motioned to adjourn the meeting, Upe Flueckiger seconded.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Kerri Pike.