# Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes April 12, 2013

#### **Members Present:**

Jennifer Bard, Gary Bell, Donna Davis, Gary Elbow, Deborah Fowler, Jeff Johnson, Audra Morse

### **Members Not Present:**

Shannon Bichard, Kathryn Button, Michael Dini, Janice Killian, Elizabeth Louden, Suzanne Tapp

## **Approval of minutes:**

Minutes from March 22, 2013 were distributed. Jennifer Bard moved that the minutes be approved. Deborah Fowler seconded the motion. The motion carried.

#### **Old Business:**

*Teacher Mentoring through Peer Observation (TeMPO)* TeMPO has been approved. We will accept five mentors and five fellows.

DETA

The reception will be held on Wednesday, April 17<sup>th</sup>, 3:30-5:00 p.m., TLPDC room 153.

Teaching Evaluations

One issue that continues to be of concern is the impact changes may have on faculty going up for tenure and promotion. It was noted that choosing to delete questions that some faculty members have always done well on, but are no longer available, may cause problems. What is important is that the instructor and course are effective. It was suggested that we do a test run - have students assess the evaluation, but not complete it. Regarding a class syllabus, Gary Elbow said that legally we have to include a schedule with dates. Course objectives and learning outcomes are important items to focus on as we work to update this document.

Standing Orders

The review process continues.

Burns Conference

Dr. O'Boyle has been asked to present a lunch session. We have not heard back from him yet.

#### **New Business:**

Selection of Chair-elect and Chair

Donna Davis, chair-elect of the Executive Council, is leaving TTU for the University of South Florida (USF) in Tampa. We hope to have a new chair-elect by summer. The new chair will serve a one year term.

#### **Announcements:**

*April Provost Meeting* The April meeting is scheduled for April 23<sup>rd</sup>.

# **Upcoming Meetings:**

Future meetings:

i. May 10<sup>th</sup>

ii. Spring meeting Wednesday, April 17<sup>th</sup>.

# Adjourn

Jeff Johnson moved to adjourn. Deborah Fowler seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Respectfully submitted by Tina Sansom