Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes April 22, 2022

Members Present:

Lisa Garner Santa, Angela Lumpkin, Mitzi Ziegner, Tara Stevens, Bob McDonald, Nancy Soonpaa, Dominick Casadonte, Karen Alexander, Susan Tomlinson, Kayleigh Millerick, Suzanne Tapp

Members Not Present:

Ali Duffy, Patrick Hughes, Courtney Meyers

Approval of Minutes:

Mitzi moved to approve the minutes from, March 25, 2022; Susan seconded. The council approved.

New Member Selection Committee Report

Malinda Colwell reported to the council that they received twelve applications and accepted eleven. Notification letters will go out soon and the new members will be announced publicly.

Selection of Chair-Elect

Angela moved to name Karen Alexander as the new Chair-Elect for the 2022-2023 academic year; Bob seconded. The council approved.

Nominations for Remaining Standing Committee Positions

Susan asked if Rob Weiner could be considered to represent the Honors College on a committee. Angela reminded the council that the bylaws allow for at least two at-large representatives on the Executive Council and each standing committee. She clarified that more at-large representatives could be added if a college did not have enough members to represent them on committees. More Teaching Academy members were nominated for the open positions and the names are as follows:

Rob Weiner- Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarships Selection Committee: At-Large representative for the Honors College

David Doerfert- Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award Selection Committee: Davis College representative

Peter Dotray- Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award Selection Committee: Davis College representative

Scott Burris- Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award Selection Committee: At-Large representative for the Honors College

Bill Gelber- New Member Selection Committee: Talkington College representative Dimitri Pappas- New Member Selection Committee: At-Large representative for the Honors College

David Roach- Executive Council: College of Arts & Sciences representative Rob Stewart- Executive Council: At-Large representative for the College of Architecture Dom moved to accept these nominations from the Executive Council; Bob seconded. The council approved.

The council would like to nominate new members for the final three positions once they are announced and will finish the process by email.

Discussion of the Suggested Change from the DETA Selection Committee

Addition of Deans statement to cover sheet for non-traditional applicants.

Kay suggested that this statement should be for all applicants to avoid adding complication only for those non-traditional applicants. She asked if this should be a box to check or a separate form. It was noted that some units don't report to a dean. Angela reminded the council that this was discussed last year and that language for clarification was added to the website. Molly will send the existing language to the council and they will vote by email to keep the current language or create new language.

Approval to Create Guides for Standing Committee Chairs.

This project will be a collaboration between TLPDC staff and past chairs of the standing committees. Bob motioned to approve; Susan seconded. The council approved.

Burns Conference Speaker Suggestions

Suzanne sent a document to the council and presented three potential speakers for the fall conference. The council discussed the possibilities for Michelle Miller, James Lang, and Steven Brookfield. Everyone agreed that they prefer James Lang and Suzanne will communicate with him to request him as the keynote speaker. The council agreed that their next choice would be Michelle Miller.

Rescheduling of May Meeting

Due to the conflict with the commencement ceremonies, the council decided to cancel the May meeting and conclude any final business by email.

Adjourn:

Lisa adjourned the meeting.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Molly Jacobs.