# Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes April 21, 2017

#### **Members Present:**

Comfort Pratt, John White, Bill Pasewark, Mario Beruvides, Nathan Collie, Suzanne Tapp, Nancy Soonpaa, Shane Blum, Lisa Santa-Garner

Members Not Present: Joaquin Borrego, Susan Tomlinson, Scott Burris, Katie Langford

### **Approval of minutes:**

Comfort Pratt motioned to approve the minutes and Nathan Collie seconded.

#### Welcome:

Shane Blum welcomed the members of the Executive Council.

#### **New Business:**

#### Provost Update

The Faculty Senate is working to develop an OP for faculty 3<sup>rd</sup> year review protocol. The Graduate School will now allow Professors of Practice to serve as graduate faculty members. The Provost's Office has proposed several changes to commencement ceremonies.

#### Burns Conference Update

Suzanne Tapp discussed the 2017 John M. Burns Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Conference. The committee considered five possibilities for the keynote speaker, and at their request, Ms. Tapp will contact several possible presenters with an invitation.

#### Changes to Schovanec Fellowship Recipients

As a part of their award, Schovanec Fellowship recipients are asked to give a session at the TLPDC based on the conference they attended. However, attendance has been minimal at these workshops. Based on conversation with the committee, this requirement has been revised to include a poster session at the Burns Conference with several interpretations (a traditional poster, a brief video, and so on).

#### New Member Selection Committee Update

Dr. Shane Blum, Suzanne Tapp, Esther Saldivar, and Kerri Pike met with the chair of the New Member Selection Committee prior to the sub-committee meeting, and provided handouts on the voting guidelines, new member requirements and updates to the Teaching Academy bylaws, and changes to the application software.

#### **Announcements:**

A session titled, "Rewards of Peer Observation" will be held with participants from the TeMPO Program at the TLDPC at 1:00 pm on Friday, April 28th. Members of the EC were invited.

The Teaching and Learning "Big 12" Conference being held on June 8<sup>th</sup> and 9<sup>th</sup>. Suzanne Tapp will send an email to EC members to forward to colleagues regarding this conference.

The Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award (DETA) ceremony recognizing the School of Law- Advocacy Program will be held at the TLDPC on Monday, April 24<sup>th</sup> at 4 PM

## Adjourn

Shane Blum adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar