# **Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes April 27<sup>th</sup>, 2018**

#### **Members Present:**

Scott Burris, Shane Blum, Comfort Pratt, Lisa Garner Santa, Angela Lumpkin, Ali Nejat, Nathan Collie, Bob McDonald, Katie Langford, Nancy Soonpaa, Suzanne Tapp

#### **Members Not Present:**

Jim Brink, Mark Webb, Upe Flueckiger

### **Approval of Minutes:**

Angela Lumpkin motioned to approve the minutes and Comfort Pratt seconded.

#### Welcome:

Scott Burris welcomed the council for the last meeting of the year.

#### **Announcements:**

Peer Review Subcommittee

Shane Blum gave an update on the subcommittee's first meeting. They desire to develop a list of best practices that will be made available to all departments for use in their faculty observations. Scott asked Shane to share updates with the Teaching Academy at the business meeting on May 4<sup>th</sup>.

#### John M. Burns Conference

Suzanne Tapp let the Council know that she is pursuing Peter Felton for the keynote speaker. She hopes to have a definite response soon.

## Teaching Academy New Member Selection

Molly Jacobs stated that this year, twenty six applications were received by the Teaching Academy. The selection committee will meet on May 11<sup>th</sup> to determine acceptance.

## Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award Ceremony

The recipient this year is the department of Teacher Preparation and the ceremony will be held in the TLPDC on May 4<sup>th</sup> at 3:00 pm. A General Teaching Academy Business Meeting will follow. Scott asked the Executive Counsel to encourage the Teaching Academy colleagues in their perspective departments to attend the ceremony. Scott asked Comfort Pratt to assist him in presenting the plaques.

## **New Business:**

New Chair-Elect Selection

The nominees for the new Chair-Elect are Bob McDonald, Angela Lumpkin, and Nancy Soonpaa. The voting process will take place via email ballot and all votes are anonymous. The new Chair-Elect will be announced at the business meeting in May.

## Adjourn:

Bob McDonald motioned to adjourn and Comfort Pratt seconded. Scott Burris dismissed the Executive Council.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Molly Jacobs