Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes August 23, 2024

Members Present:

Jeffrey Harper, David Roach, Charles Crews, Nancy Soonpaa, Suzanne Tapp, Cindy Akers, Belinda Kleinhans, Mitzi Ziegner, Ameri Gurley, Shane Blum, Fanni Coward, Karen Alexander

Members Not Present:

Rob Stewart, Andrew Stetson, John Masselli, Katie Langford

Approval of Minutes:

There was a small correction of Joel Velasco's name in paragraph one. Ameri Gurley moved to approve the minutes from April 26; Mitzi Ziegner seconded. The council approved the April minutes.

Welcome:

Nancy Soonpaa is the chair for 2024-2025 and introduced her theme, "Teaching through Turbulent Times". This theme is commonly found at other universities and is one that is clearly shared. We hope to include mindfulness with this theme and recognize that students, staff, and faculty all need this. The vision is to help find calm and peace in the midst of turbulence. The Executive Council participated in a breathing exercise to focus on our mindfulness.

Burns Conference:

Suzanne Tapp introduced the 2024 Burns Conference keynote speaker, Dr. Lindsay Masland (Appalachian State University) and her two workshops for the conference.

- Morning Keynote: In Defense of Teacher-Centered Teaching... and Other Things I'm not Supposed to Say
- Afternoon Workshop: Should It Stay or Should It Go? Aligning Your Teaching Decisions to Your Values and Context.

New Member Selection:

Nancy Soonpaa continued a discussion from Spring, 2024 about Teaching Academy new member selection processes. She discussed new member statistics including the number of members inducted before and after 2010. The group also discussed the number of administrators involved in the Teaching Academy and representation from various colleges.

The committee agreed that it should be made clear that the Teaching Academy is a service group and not a traditional award. They also agreed that a checklist should be publicized to help applicants confirm that they have submitted the required materials in the requested formatting.

The committee discussed two approaches with the review process: Do not review if the application is more than 20 pages or review only up to 20 pages of an application. Ameri noted that stopping review at page 20 still allows review of the application which could provide more opportunity for feedback.

Fanni Coward described a hypothetical situation in which an applicant might be rejected and asked if they would receive feedback from the committee. She noted that applicants might prefer to receive feedback saying that the application was not reviewed at all. Karen Alexander noted that if we review the application to 20 pages, we can also provide feedback about the application and note that the application was not considered due to page length.

Belinda Kleinhans moved that the Teaching Academy will not review non-compliant membership applications. The motion was seconded by Fanni Coward. All members voted to approve. Karen Alexander asked that we emphasize this information on all criteria and checklists. David Roach asked the selection committee to take care to include thoughtful wording to applicants and encourage them to reapply.

Ameri moved that the non-compliance rule should apply to all awards for which the Teaching Academy has responsibility. The motion was seconded by Fanni Coward. All members voted to approve.

Piper Professor Selection Committee

The committee discussed the process for appointing the Piper Professor Selection Committee as approved in the Spring. This committee should include either a former recipient of the Piper Professor award or a past nominee. Committee members identified Wendy Humphrey and Karen Alexander as past nominees and Dom Casadonte, Debbie Laverie, and Aliza Wong as past recipients. Molly Jacobs and Nancy Soonpaa will meet to discuss appointment of the members for this committee.

Announcements:

- Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award applications will open on Monday, August 25th.
- The Piper Professor Award nominations will open on August 28th.
- The New Member Induction and Fall Business Meeting will be held on Thursday, September 26th at 11:30.
- The Burns Conference will be held on Friday, September 27th from 10:30 to 3:00.

Karen Alexander, Belinda Kleinhans, and Nancy Soonpaa will attend an upcoming Deans Council meeting to discuss the Chancellor's Award on September 3rd. Karen will send last year's PowerPoint to this group.

Adjourn:

Cindy Akers moved to adjourn the meeting; Belinda Kleinhans seconded. The meeting was adjourned.