Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes August 25th, 2017

Members Present:

Scott Burris, Jim Brink, Suzanne Tapp, Comfort Pratt, David Forrest, Shane Blum, Mark Webb, Katie Langford, Nancy Soonpaa, Upe Flueckiger, Bob McDonald, Nathan Collie

Members Not Present: Angela Lumpkin, Ali Nejat

Approval of minutes:

Comfort Pratt motioned to approve the minutes and Scott Burris seconded.

Welcome:

Scott Burris welcomed the members of the Executive Council, and introduced the new Executive Members to the committee.

New Business:

Chair's vision for the Teaching Academy: Polishing the Lamp

As chair for the 2017-2018 Executive Council, Scott Burris shared his vision/theme for this year's Teaching Academy. Scott wants to challenge each Teaching Academy member to reflect on and reinvigorate their teaching. The committee discussed ways in which this might be done by encouraging members to set teaching goals and participate in TLPDC/Teaching Academy events.

Provost Update

Scott Burris reported on the Provost's Council meeting and focused on the Double-T College, a series of short talks aimed at a student audience from some of the university's leading faculty including: Katherine Hayhoe, Michael San Francisco, Dominique Casadonte, Bob McDonald, Genevieve Durham, Elizabeth Sharp, Hal Karlsson, Chris Smith, and Guy Loneragan.

In addition, Burris reported on the university's adoption of the online course evaluation systems, Smart Evals. The Executive Council members discussed this change and suggested a university adoption of the online evaluation- "Smart Evals". The Council members discussed possible ways to contribute to this conversation and make positive suggestions to encourage response rates and participation.

Dr. Burris shared information about a new council being created by the Provosts office. "The Provost's Teaching Council" will be responsible for provide feedback and input to assist with the continuing development of the Provost's Teaching Forums. Nominations for the council members have been made.

John M. Burns Conference &New Member Induction Ceremony

Suzanne Tapp announced that the John M. Burns Conference and New Member Induction Ceremony to be held at the TLPDC on October 5th-6th. Information regarding the keynote speaker, Dr. Clair Howell Major, was provided and a request was made for all Executive Members to help with transportation during her stay. Suzanne will follow up with a sign-up sheet.

Announcements:

Chair Elect Announcement Scott Burris announced Comfort Pratt as the Chair Elect for the 2018 Teaching Academy Executive Council.

Adjourn

Mark Webb motioned to adjourn the meeting. Nathan Collie seconded.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar