# Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes December 1, 2017

## **Members Present:**

Scott Burris, Comfort Pratt, Upe Flueckiger, David Forrest, Angela Lumpkin, Bob McDonald, Ali Nejat, Nancy Soonpaa, Suzanne Tapp

#### **Members Not Present:**

Jim Brink, Shane Blum, Nathan Collie, Katie Langford

## **Approval of Minutes:**

Nancy Soonpaa motioned to approve the minutes and David Forrest seconded.

## Welcome:

Scott Burris welcomed the members of the Executive Council and updated the Council on the recent changes in the TLPDC administrative staff. He also reminded the Council of the procedure for the announcement of the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award and the importance of confidentiality.

## **New Business:**

## DETA Ceremony & Spring Meeting

Members of the Executive Council discussed ways in which the spring meeting, held in conjunction with the DETA Ceremony, might be augmented and thereby better attended.

## Announcements:

## Upcoming Dates

The Provost's Council Meeting for November and December will be combined and held on 12/8/2017. The Advancing Teaching and Learning Conference, hosted by the TLPDC will be on 3/2/2018.

## Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarship

Scott Burris reported that 17 applications were submitted, the average number of submissions is 12-20, and Glen Cummings is chairing the review committee.

## Double T College

Bob McDonald reported that while attendance was not as it was hoped it would be, Double T College will be repeated in the spring semester.

## Adjourn:

Upe Flueckiger motioned to adjourn the meeting and Comfort Pratt seconded.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Micah Logan.