Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes February 23, 2018

Members Present:

Scott Burris, Comfort Pratt, Bob McDonald, Shane Blum, Ali Nejat, Nathan Collie, Lisa Garner Santa, Mark Webb, Angela Lumpkin, Suzanne Tapp

Members Not Present:

Jim Brink, Upe Flueckiger, Katie Langford, Nancy Soonpaa

Approval of Minutes:

Mark Webb motioned to approve the minutes and Lisa Garner Santa seconded.

Welcome:

Scott Burris welcomed the members of the Executive Council and updated the Council on the recent addition to the TLPDC administrative staff. He also gave a report on the Provost's Council meeting.

New Business:

Peer Review Teaching Academy Subcommittee

The Council approved the new subcommittee and nominated Shane Blum as chair. The Council discussed how the subcommittee could contribute to faculty peer reviews campus wide. Shane Blum and Scott Burris will send an open call to the Teaching Academy for subcommittee membership.

Bylaws

The Council reviewed the bylaws and agreed to continue evaluating over the coming weeks. Updating the bylaws will be on the agenda for the next meeting.

Announcements:

Advancing Teaching and Learning Conference Update

Suzanne Tapp reminded the Council that the conference is scheduled for Friday, March 2nd and reported that registration is almost full.

Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award

Suzanne Tapp reported that one application has been submitted and reminded the Council that the application closes on February 27th.

Teaching Academy New Membership

Scott Burris reminded the Council that the new member application for Teaching Academy will open on March 1st and close on April 16th.

Adjourn:

Scott Burris adjourned the meeting.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Molly Jacobs.