Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes February 24, 2017

Members Present:

John White, Shane Blum, Bill Pasewark, Scott Burris, Nathan Collie, Nancy Soonpaa, Comfort Pratt, Katie Langford, Lisa Garner-Santa, Joaquin Borrego, Susan Tomlinson

Members Not Present: Mario Beruvides, Suzanne Tapp

Approval of minutes:

Shane Blum motioned to approve the minutes and Scott Burris seconded.

Welcome:

Shane Blum welcomed the members of the Executive Council

New Business:

Bylaw Amendments

The Executive Council members proposed a slight change to the bylaw amendment to add "Full-time status" to the Professors of Practice addition. They also suggested adding wording regarding "a minimum of three years (six long semesters)" as a requirement for faculty applying to the Teaching Academy. The vote was unanimous.

Teaching Academy Reviewer Criteria

Proposals were made to revise the Teaching Academy Reviewer Criteria to match the changes in the bylaws. The vote was unanimous and the changes to the reviewer criteria were approved.

All changes can be found on the Teaching Academy Website and are implemented immediately with the current New Member Selection Process.

DETA Frequency

Eligibility for receipt of the DETA, specifically the frequency with which a department can receive the award, was discussed briefly. Suggestions were made for an extremely long moratorium between winning the award, a 10 year moratorium, and a moratorium of several years. There was concern expressed that the same program/department could win with little improvement if the moratorium is not long enough. This discussion was tabled for later discussion to give members time to consider the topic completely.

Announcements:

The 13th Annual Advancing Teaching & Learning Conference will be held on March 3, 2017.

Teaching Academy New Member Applications open March 1, 2017. Kerri Pike gave a demonstration of the new Teaching Academy Application and review process, and took suggestions from the committee regarding edits to the application and information provided.

Meeting Schedule for Spring 2017:

February 3rd April 21st
February 24th May 5th

Adjourn

Shane Blum adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar