Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes February 26, 2016

Members Present:

Mario Beruvides, Shannon Bichard, Shane Blum, Scott Burris, Bill Pasewark, Comfort Pratt, Lisa Garner-Santa, Suzanne Tapp,

Members Not Present: Joaquin Borrego, Dominick Casadonte, Nancy Soonpaa, Susan Tomlinson, John White,

Approval of minutes:

Comfort Pratt moved to approve the minutes from January 29. Scott Burris seconded. All approved.

Welcome:

Bill Pasewark welcomed the members of the Executive Council.

New Business:

Schovanec Travel Scholarship

Dr. Durham-DeCesaro reported on the recent selection process with the Schovanec Teaching Fellowship. She asked whether a certain percentage of the recipients should be TA Members, in other words, is the award meant to be external or internal to the Teaching Academy (TA). She also asked if the TA should allow professors of practice to apply for this scholarship even though they are not tenured or tenure-track. Dr. Pratt suggested that perhaps 50% should be allocated to TA members. Dr. Pasewark suggested asking the Provost for feedback. Dr. Burris asked how many applicants were actually TA members (20%). He pointed out that this is also an opportunity to provide development opportunities for faculty members who are actively seeking to become better teachers, and to possibly develop future TA members. Dr. Burris suggested tabling the discussion to ask the Provost for his opinion. Dr. Bichard suggested opening it up to Professors of Practice (PoP). Dr. Beruvides suggested that continuous employment should be a part of the eligibility criteria for PoP. Dr. Pasewark suggested that a membership poll considering PoP eligibility. The discussion was tabled.

Provost's Council

Dr. Pasewark reviewed items from the Provost's Council, which focused heavily on the budget with items including a possible 2% faculty merit raise and a change so that program fees replace DETA fees.

Carnegie Designation

The new Texas Tech status and Carnegie reclassification was discussed briefly.

Online Course Evaluations

The online course evaluation format is changed and we will move away from a print based evaluations format to an online format over the next year. Benefits include accessibility compliance, reduced costs and quicker turnaround time.

Deta Update

The Departmental Excellence in Teaching award selection process was completed. The new TA voting protocol was used and feedback from the committee indicated that Olympic scoring was helpful and the process worked smoothly.

Spring "Spirited" Discussion-Topic Discussion

Dr. Pasewark gave an update on the Spirited Discussion and continued to take names as possible student panelists. He asked for feedback about questions to post to the panel. These questions will also be used in the video being created by the TLPDC interviewing students around campus. Questions include: Do you think you are really learning anything? What would change about the university and education? What would you not change? What would you change about your course?

Announcements:

Ms. Tapp discussed the 2016 annual John M. Burns Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Conference. The committee considered several possibilities for the keynote speaker, and at their request, Ms. Tapp will contact Michele DiPietro with an invitation.

Meeting Schedule for Spring, 2016 (Meetings will now be held from 3-4):

April 29th

May 13th

Adjourn

Shannon Bichard moved to adjourn. Mario Beruvides seconded.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar