Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes March 23rd, 2018

Members Present:

Shane Blum, Comfort Pratt, Lisa Garner Santa, Angela Lumpkin, Ali Nejat, Upe Flueckiger, Nathan Collie, Bob McDonald, Mark Webb, Katie Langford, Jim Brink, Suzanne Tapp

Members Not Present:

Scott Burris, Nancy Soonpaa

Approval of Minutes:

Mark Webb motioned to approve the minutes and Bob McDonald seconded.

Welcome:

Shane Blum welcomed the members and acted as Chair in Scott's absence.

New Business:

Representation at the Commencement Ceremonies

Mark, Comfort, Lisa, Jim, and Angela volunteered to represent the Teaching Academy at the commencement ceremonies for May and August of 2018.

John M. Burns Conference

Suzanne made several suggestions for the guest speaker. Peter Felton, Jon Iuzini, John Zubizareta and Michelle Smith are all being considered for the conference this fall. The Council agreed that a decision must be made in the next few weeks.

Revision of the Bylaws

The Council reviewed the bylaws after the meeting in February and finalized revisions to Article 6.1, Article 6.4, Article VIII, and Article X. The changes are as follows:

- -Article 6.1 The Executive Council's standing committees are the New Member Selection Committee, the Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award Selection Committee and the Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarship Selection Committee.
- -Article 6.4 Each standing committee will elect a Chair who will preside over the selection process for one year and may be elected for one additional year. The Chair is elected at the final meeting of the year for each standing committee.
- -Article VIII A committee comprised of the Executive Council of the Teaching Academy, the president of the Faculty Senate, and a previous Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award winner (appointed by the chair of the Executive Council of the Teaching Academy) will conduct the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award selection process and make recommendations for revising the process as specified in OP 32.13.

-Article X Proposed amendments to these Bylaws may be initiated by any Teaching Academy member and must be submitted in writing to Executive Council. The proposed amendments may be adopted by a majority vote of the Teaching Academy Executive Council members present.

The decision was made to paginate the Bylaws and to record in the document the date of the most recent amendments.

Announcements:

Advancing Teaching and Learning Conference

Suzanne Tapp shared that this year's conference was very successful and there were over two hundred attendees. The guest speaker, Dr. Saundra McGuire, was highly engaging and well received.

Peer Review Sub-Committee

Shane Blum announced that Greg Gellene, Beth Thacker, Mike Serra, Genevieve Durham DeCesaro, Fanni Coward, David Forrest, Robert Cox, Nicole Morelock, Angela Lumpkin and Suzanne Tapp will serve as the members of the new sub-committee. He also restated to the Council the purpose of the sub-committee.

Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award

Suzanne reminded the Council that the DETA recommendation deadline is Friday, March 30th. She announced that there are five applications and the selection committee will meet Monday, March 26th.

Teaching Academy New Membership

Suzanne reminded the Council that the new member application is open and that it will close on April 16th.

Adjourn:

Shane Blum adjourned the meeting

Minutes respectfully submitted by Molly Jacobs