Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes May 10, 2013

Members Present:

Jennifer Bard, Shannon Bichard, Kathryn Button, Donna Davis, Gary Elbow, Deborah Fowler, Jeff Johnson, Janice Killian, Audra Morse, Suzanne Tapp

Members Not Present:

Gary Bell, Michael Dini, Elizabeth Louden

Approval of minutes:

Minutes from April 12, 2013 were distributed. Jennifer Bard moved that the minutes be approved. Donna Davis seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Old Business:

Selection of Chair-elect and Chair

Jennifer Bard volunteered to serve as the new Executive Council Chair for 2013-2014. Shannon Bichard volunteered to serve as Chair-elect. The Executive Council elected Dr. Bard and Dr. Bichard by acclamation to serve in these new roles. The chair will serve two years – the first year as chair, and the second year as past-chair. The chair-elect will serve three years – the first year as chair-elect, the second year as chair, and the final year as past-chair.

Standing Orders

Deborah Fowler moved that the committee adopt the Standing Orders. Janice Killian seconded the motion. The motion carried. A copy is attached.

Bylaws

Gary Elbow moved that the committee adopt the Bylaws. Janice Killian seconded the motion. The motion carried. A copy is attached.

Teaching Evaluations

A draft of the Course & Instructor Evaluation was distributed to the committee. It contained five main questions. A copy is attached. Janice Killian has a group of students meeting next Tuesday night. She will get feedback from them. We hope to get something to Faculty Senate by October. The committee wants to continue to work with Jason Rinaldo. Donna Davis commented that mixing teacher and course is confusing for her students.

New Faculty Teaching Workshop

Suzanne Tapp would like input from the Executive Council's past-chair, chair, and chair-elect.

Regarding the protocol for developing a recommendation for the DETA, Audra added bullet #9: Points of clarification (copy is attached). Discussion continued on scoring. Janice Killian suggested looking at "Olympic" scoring, where everyone on the committee would give a score, drop the highest and lowest scores, and then rank the applicants. Audra will work on an update and send it to Jennifer for more discussion. The committee approved of the clarification for the term "department."

Burns Conference

We now have a bio and photo of Dr. Ashley Finley. We are still waiting on Dr. O'Boyle to respond about presenting a lunch session.

Teacher Mentoring through Peer Observation (TeMPO)

Nomination forms for both mentors and fellows have been sent out. They are due May 31st.

New Business:

Results of the New Member Selection Process

The committee met and decided to offer Teaching Academy membership to the following faculty:

Claudia Cogliser

Janet Froeschle

J. Chance Brooks

David Harrison

Nathan Collie

Mitzi Lauderdale

Jamie Cooper

Stephen Bayne

Jeffrey Wherry

Jennifer Farris

Announcements:

April Provost Meeting

General purpose classrooms were discussed, along with grad course approvals.

Upcoming TLPDC Events – Suzanne Tapp

The applications for Service Learning Faculty Fellows are due May 31st. The TEACH group will be selecting TEACH fellows next Monday and Tuesday. Dr. David Perlmutter, new dean of the College of Media and Communication, will be speaking at the TLPDC room 153 on Friday, May 17th.

Upcoming Meetings: TBD

Adjourn

Gary Elbow moved to adjourn. Katie Button seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Respectfully submitted by Tina Sansom