# Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes May 5, 2017

#### **Members Present:**

Comfort Pratt, John White, Suzanne Tapp, Nancy Soonpaa, Shane Blum, Lisa Santa-Garner, Scott Burris, Katie Langford

**Members Not Present:** Joaquin Borrego, Susan Tomlinson, Bill Pasewark, Mario Beruvides, Nathan Collie

# **Approval of minutes:**

John White motioned to approve the minutes and Comfort Pratt seconded.

# Welcome:

Shane Blum welcomed the members of the Executive Council.

# **New Business:**

Provost's Council Update

Dr. Blum shared information from the new Director of the Ranching Heritage and resources available to faculty and students.

#### New Member Selection Committee

The names of the five new Teaching Academy members selected by the New Member Selection committee were announced and approved during the Executive Council meeting. Following the change in the Teaching Academy bylaws to allow instructors and professors of practice to apply for membership, the first instructor was selected as a new member of the Teaching Academy.

Dr. Blum met with the New Member Selection Committee Chair to discuss the process of the new online voting system and received feedback.

## TeMPO Program

Allison Boye and Audra Morse presented a summary and information about the TeMPO program. The Executive Council will continue to seek consistent funding support for this successful program.

# Standing Committees: Length of Service

The New Member Selection Committee Chair volunteered to chair the committee again. The current Bylaws do not permit a second term on any of the standing committees; however, Dr. Blum asked the Executive Council to vote and allow the current New Member Selection Committee Chair to serve another year as Chair, particularly given her familiarity with the new online voting program. Scott Burris approved and Comfort Pratt seconded the motion. All Executive Members approved.

#### **Announcements:**

Standing Committees: New Members

New Members are needed for all Standing Committees and an email will go out to the entire Teaching Academy asking for volunteers.

#### Chair Elect Nominations

Shane Blum announced a call for nominations for the Teaching Academy Executive Council Chair Elect. Any nominations, including self-nominations, should be emailed to Shane Blum.

Passing of the Gavel and Recognition of Service to the Executive Council
Shane Blum passed the Gavel to the new Chair of the Executive Council, Scott Burris. Five members who are rotating off of the Executive Council were recognized for their three years of service. Each member was presented with a Certificate of Service.

# Adjourn

Shane Blum motioned to adjourn the meeting. Suzanne Tapp seconded.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar