Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes May 8, 2015

Members Present:

Mario Beruvides, Shannon Bichard, Dominick Casadonte, Peter Dotray, Janice Killian, Bill Pasewark, John White, Suzanne Tapp

Members Not Present:

Jennifer Bard, Joaquin Borrego, Deborah Fowler, Susan Tomlinson

Approval of minutes:

Dominick Casadonte moved to approve the minutes from March 27, 2015. Peter Dotray seconded. All approved.

Welcome:

Shannon Bichard welcomed the members of the Executive Council.

New Business:

Provost's Council

The Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement, Lisa Calvert, was introduced at this month's meeting. Dr. Chomsky gave an update on the new Humanities Center. Matt Brockman with the National Ranching Heritage Center gave a report to the council. There was an update given on the SACSCOC process and a "Provost Roadshow" that will occur at all colleges.

Burns Conference 2015

Suzanne Tapp invited Dr. Derek Bruff to speak at the Burns Conference and the invitation was accepted. The Executive Council asked if Dr. Bruff might be willing to make a short recording for a student audience regarding visual thinking.

Teaching Foundations Workshop

Suzanne Tapp announced that the Teaching Foundations Workshop will be held on Wednesday, August 19th from 1:30-4:30pm at the TLPDC. Suzanne requested that the members of the Executive Council send any ideas for the event to her and Bill Pasewark for consideration.

Old Business:

New Teaching Academy Member Applications

New Member applications were due Wednesday, April 1st. There were a total of 17 applications. The New Member Selection Committee met on Monday, April 27th. The committee discussed the report from the selection committee and 14 applicants were accepted for membership.

There was discussion among the Executive Council in regard to the selection process and duties of the New Member Selection Committee. Mario Beruvides proposed a review of the protocol for committees and a revision of the bylaws. Bill Pasewark motioned that a subcommittee be formed to review the protocol and bylaws. Dominick Casadonte seconded the motion. The decision was unanimous. Dominick Casadonte, Mario Beruvides, and Suzanne Tapp volunteered to serve on the subcommittee.

Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarships Selection Committee

The deadline for applications was Friday, April 17th. There were 17 applicants. The committee met on Friday, May 1st to make their final selections. The committee had three \$1500 scholarships at their disposal. They

awarded all three scholarships and the recipients of this year's Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarships are as follows: Nathan Collie (Biological Sciences), Jacki Fitzpatrick (Human Development and Family Studies), and Kristi Gaines (Design). Suzanne Tapp sent emails on behalf of Genevieve Durham (Chair of the Selection Committee) to all applicants.

Announcements:

Shannon Bichard reviewed the standing committee statuses, along with a review of the ballot for Executive Council. The ballot for Executive Council will close on Tuesday, May 26th.

Shannon Bichard reviewed the representatives for commencement: 5/15 Dominick Casadonte and Bill Pasewark, 5/16 James Davis and Susan Tomlinson.

Adjourn

Dominick Casadonte motioned to adjourn. Shannon Bichard seconded. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted by Kimberly Leigh