Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes November 1, 2013

Members Present:

Jennifer Bard, Shannon Bichard, Dominick Casadonte, Gary Elbow, Jeff Johnson, Janice Killian, Audra Morse, William Pasewark, Suzanne Tapp

Guests:

Lee Cohen, Seshadri Ramkumar

Members Not Present:

Gary Bell, Kathryn Button, Deborah Fowler, Elizabeth Louden

Approval of minutes:

There were no minutes distributed or discussed during this meeting.

Old Business:

There was no discussion of old business.

Report from Chair:

Jeff Johnson

Jennifer Bard announced that Jeff Johnson is stepping down from his position with the Teaching Academy Executive council and has accepted a position in Mississippi. Peter Dotray, Professor of Plant and Soil Science, will take his place.

New Business:

Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award

Jennifer Bard raised the question of whether or not associate deans should be eligible for the award. It is stated in OP 32.13, 3 (a) *Members of the faculty who hold the rank of dean or above are not eligible for nomination for a Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award*. All members agree that associate deans are below the rank of dean, and therefore should be eligible for the award.

There was discussion about the criteria for selection. It was stated that following instructions proved difficult:

External supporting letters from colleagues, focusing on the criteria for this award (not to exceed 3 letters)

Internal supporting letters from colleagues, focusing on the criteria for this award (not to exceed 3 letters)

Supporting letters from former students, focusing on the criteria for this award (not to exceed 3 letters)

Although the instructions were not explicit enough, it was agreed that the Executive Council could not exclude any of the nominees. Dominick Casadonte, Janice Killian, and Audra Morse agreed to serve on a sub-committee responsible to make suggestions to revise the OP, nomination instructions, and rating sheet for the award. Dominick Casadonte suggested using an advance spreadsheet for ratings in the future. Audra Morse moved that the Executive Council begin scoring the applicants. Based on scored submitted by attending participants of the selection committee, Gary Elbow motioned to award 4 nominees: Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, Claudia Cogliser, Melanie Hart, and Brian Shannon. Jennifer Bard will notify the Provost's office of the decision. The names will be sent in alphabetical order and without their ranking.

Dominick Casadonte noted that the weight of the external criteria in the scoring process needs to be examined.

Teaching Academy Membership

Jennifer Bard raised the subject of Teaching Academy Membership and the eligibility of administrators, librarians, archivists, and professors of practice. Dominick Casadonte stated that unless they have teaching appointments, they should not be eligible. The rest of the Executive Council members agreed, but this subject will be discussed at a later point.

Announcements:

Meeting with President Nellis

Jennifer Bard announced that President Nellis has requested a meeting with the Teaching Academy Executive Council. She will inform him of upcoming meetings, in hopes that his schedule will coincide with one of them.

Adjourn

Respectfully submitted by Kimberly Leigh