Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes October 25, 2024

Members Present:

Nancy Soonpaa, Jeffrey Harper, David Roach, Charles Crews, Suzanne Tapp, Belinda Kleinhans, Shane Blum, Fanni Coward, Karen Alexander, Ameri Gurley, Andrew Stetson, John Masselli

Members Not Present:

Cindy Akers, Katie Langford, Rob Stewart

Welcome and Group Activity:

Nancy Soonpaa led the council in stress relieving activity as a demonstration for an in-class activity with students.

Approval of Minutes:

John Masselli moved to approve the minutes from September 20th; Jeffrey Harper seconded. The council approved the September minutes.

Piper Professor Award Committee Report

Dominick Casadonte shared reflections from the committee after their selection process. Each applicant was very strong and the committee selected a nominee to represent Texas Tech University. Next year, the committee would like to make updates to the evaluation form to make the rating scale more consistent. They would also like the online review form to limit the number input based on the rating scale. In addition, the committee would like to require at least one of the support letters to be from a student or at least require a certain number from students vs. peers. The committee noticed it was tricky to review applicants since there was not consistency with letter writer relationships. The Piper Professor Award Committee will decide on the specifics for a new rating scale and support letter requirements for next year's process.

Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award Discussion

Based on the discussion after the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award selection, the council decided to vote on the following changes:

- Update Info Ready review form to reflect example items listed on the rating sheet in OP 32.13B
- Update website and Info Ready application to include item 3f from OP 31.13: "Packets not meeting the requirements set forth in this OP will be disqualified."
- Set aside time for review preparation at the Executive Council meeting immediately prior to the reviewing period.

Jeffrey moved to approve these updates; John Masselli seconded. The council all voted in favor.

The council discussed the following formatting guidelines to be added to the website:

- "Please upload the required materials in the order listed."
- "Please include headings for each section of the packet, especially to differentiate between the sources of support letters."
- "Dean's cover letter highlighting nominee's professional achievements related to teaching. Please organize this to align with the content of the nomination packet and include headings."

Council members discussed the benefits and drawbacks to these guidelines and requested that the online application be reformatted to accommodate these guidelines instead of asking applicants to adhere to a more strict format. Molly Jacobs will create a draft application for review.

Bylaws Update

The Council voted to update the bylaws to include a new standing committee for the President's Excellence in Faculty Peer Mentorship Award. The following language was proposed for a new item 6.3:

"The President's Excellence in Faculty Peer Mentoring Award standing committee is comprised of the Associate Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning, the Faculty Mentorship Academy Director, a past recipient, and two members of the Teaching Academy."

Ameri Gurley moved to include this new standing committee and the language for a new item 6.3; Karen Alexander seconded. The council all voted in favor.

Adjourn:

John Masselli moved to adjourn the meeting; Ameri Gurley seconded. The meeting was adjourned.