Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes October 27, 2017

Members Present:

Scott Burris, Angela Lumpkin, Jim Brink, Comfort Pratt, David Forrest, Shane Blum, Nancy Soonpaa, Bob McDonald, Mark Webb, Karen Alexander, Gene Wilde

Members Not Present: Nathan Collie, Katie Langford, Upe Flueckiger, Suzanne Tapp, Ali Nejat

Approval of minutes:

Jim Brink motioned to approve the minutes and Comfort Pratt seconded.

Welcome:

Scott Burris welcomed the members of the Executive Council.

New Business:

Burns Conference Review

Dr. Burris discussed the John M. Burns Conference and how well Dr. Claire Howell Major was received. 73 guests were reported to be in attendance.

Provost Council Update

Dr. Pratt went over highlights from the Provost's Council meeting. A major point of discussion was campus safety following recent events.

Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award

Members of the Executive Council were joined by Dr. Gene Wilde and Dr. Karen Alexander to review and select recipients of the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award. Three recipients were chosen and will be announced later in the semester.

Announcements:

Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarship

Kerri Pike reported the Lawrence Schovanec Teaching Development Scholarship application opened and is due on November 27th.

Adjourn

Mark Webb motioned to adjourn the meeting. Bob McDonald seconded.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar