Teaching Academy Executive Council Minutes October 28, 2016

Members Present:

Shane Blum, Katie Langford, Scott Burris, Lisa Garner Santa, Susan Tomlinson, Idoia Elola, John White, Nathan Collie, Comfort Pratt, Mario Beruvides, Nancy Soonpaa, Debra Fowler

Members Not Present: Bill Pasewark, Suzanne Tapp

Approval of minutes:

Scott Burris moved to approve the minutes. All approved.

Welcome:

Shane Blum welcomed the members of the Executive Council

New Business:

Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award

The Executive Council members completed the voting protocol for the Chancellor's Council Teaching Award and put forward a total of three award winners to the Provost's office.

Call for Volunteers on upcoming Fall/Spring Commencements

Dr. Blum announced we need volunteers for commencements and passed around sign-in sheet. All slots were filled.

Teaching Academy Committee Vacancies

Dr Blum went over the nominees for three of the Teaching Academy Committees: New Member Selection Committee, DETA, and the Lawrence Schovanec Committee. Each committee needs a volunteer from the College of Architecture and the School of Law. John White and Nancy Soonpaa will reach out to their colleges for volunteers via email.

Pro/Con Statements

Dr. Blum asked for five volunteers to come up with at least one paragraph for pros and cons for specific changes under consideration for Teaching Academy eligibility. Each volunteer could either meet privately with Dr. Blum or send an email. Susan Tomlinson, Idoia Elola, Mario Beruvides, Lisa Garner Santa, and Bill Pasewark agreed to serve in this capacity.

Spirited Discussion

The Spirited Discussion was briefly addressed and is tentatively scheduled for January.

Announcements:

No new announcements at this time.

Meeting Schedule for Fall, 2016:

December 2nd

Adjourn

Shane Blum moved to adjourn. Scott Burris seconded.

Respectfully submitted by Esther Saldivar