Trouble viewing this email? Click here to view it in your browser.
Whitacre College of Engineering Today
  Grants and Contracts
Faculty Recognitions
Student Accomplishments
COE Monthly Newsletter
COE Home COE Today Archive


Dickey Named Ninth Engineering Dean

Elizabeth "Beth" Dickey Texas Tech announced June 21 that Dr. Elizabeth “Beth” Dickey will become the next dean of the Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering effective Jan. 1, 2011.

The announcement came from Provost Bob Smith, who said Dickey was one of 56 people to apply for the job.

Dickey currently is a professor of materials science and engineering and the associate director of the Materials Research Institute at The Pennsylvania State University. Dickey received a bachelor’s degree in materials engineering from the University of Kentucky and a doctorate in materials science and engineering from Northwestern University. Upon receiving her Ph.D. in 1997, Dickey was on the faculty at the University of Kentucky until 2001, when she moved to Penn State. Her academic and research interests include nanomaterials for electrical and sensing applications, interface materials science, high-temperature ceramic composites, transmission electron microscopy and residual stress analysis in textured composites.

Grimes to Fill Inaugural Donovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair

Craig A. Grimes Texas Tech announced June 23 that Dr. Craig A. Grimes will fill the $7.5 million Donovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair in Solar Energy in the Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering, effective Jan. 1, 2011.

Grimes is a professor of electrical engineering and director of the Center for Solar Nanomaterials at The Pennsylvania State University. Candidates for the Maddox Chair were expected to have a national and international reputation in solar energy, and the chosen candidate would be expected to build a collaborative community of scholars at Texas Tech dedicated to solar energy research.

Grimes received master's and doctoral degrees in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Texas, in 1986 and 1990, respectively, after graduating from Penn State in electrical engineering and physics in 1984. He returned to Penn State in 2001 after seven years at the University of Kentucky, where he held the Frank J. Derbyshire Research Professor chair from July 2000 to June 2001.

A native of Ann Arbor, Mich., he has published in numerous journals and books and is regularly invited to give seminars on photovoltaics and photofuels. Grimes received the NSF CAREER grant, Ford Foundation Fellowship and the MCC Award for Excellence in Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Grimes has written more than 275 journal articles, a dozen book chapters and 20 patents. He is founder or co-founder of four companies. He is co-author of The Electromagnetic Origin of Quantum Theory and Light; Light, Water, Hydrogen: The Solar Generation of Hydrogen by Water Photoelectrolysis; TiO2 Nanotube Arrays: Synthesis, Properties and Applications; and editor of The Encyclopedia of Sensors.

Faculty Recognitions

Neuber Receives IEEE William G. Dunbar Award

Andreas Neuber

Dr. Andreas Neuber, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been awarded the IEEE William G. Dunbar Award for continuing contributions to high voltage research, technology and engineering education.

The Dunbar Award was first established at the 1982 High Voltage Workshop as the "High Voltage Award", and was renamed in 2002 to commemorate William G. Dunbar's lifetime of contributions to high voltage technology, and his leadership in the High Voltage Workshops. The Dunbar Award is intended to recognize individuals for continuing contributions to high voltage research, development, or testing technology and for transferring that technology to the engineering and scientific community.

Grants and Contracts

05-13-2010 - 06-14-2010

Chemical Engineering

Computer Science

Construction Engineering and Engineering Technology

Center for Multidisciplinary Research in Transportation

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Student Accomplishments

Civil and Environmental Engineering Doctoral Student Wins Student Paper Competition

Balaji Rao, a doctoral student in civil and environmental engineering, was named one of the five winners of the Student Paper Competition at the Seventh International Conference on Remediation of Chlorinated and Recalcitrant Compounds, which was held May 24-27 in Monterey, California.

His paper was entitled "Perchlorate Formation by Ozone Oxidation of Aqueous Chlorine (HOCl/OCL-) and Chlorine Dioxide."

Electrical and Computer Engineering Doctoral Student Wins Best Paper Award

Li Yan, a doctoral student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, won the Best Student Paper Award at the 2010 Institute Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ International Symposium on Circuits and Systems conference (IEEE ISCAS 2010), where 2,058 hopeful students from around the world submitted papers that were reviewed and scrutinized. Yan won for his paper “Efficiency Enhancement and Linearity Trade-Off for Cascode vs. Common-Emitter SiGe Power Amplifiers in WiMAX Polar Transmitters.”

In simple terms, this research could make cell phone/wireless Internet faster and more energy efficient, said Donald Lie, Keh-Shew Lu Regents Chair associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Events of Interest

July 19 2010 Hunt-Winston School Solar Car Challenge
Lubbock Visit
July 19 - 30 The ExxonMobil Bernard Harris Summer Science Camp
at Texas Tech University
August 7 Summer Commencement
1:30 p.m.
United Spirit Arena

Submission Information

Email Whitacre College of Engineering Publications with news, events, or stories.

  Whitacre College of Engineering Today  

TTU Home | Texas Tech University Whitacre College of Engineering
©2010 Texas Tech University | All Rights Reserved

Nov 20, 2014